New RT-N66U user with slow WAN speeds

Discussion in 'ASUS N Routers & Adapters' started by -AndyH-, Nov 19, 2012.

  1. -AndyH-

    -AndyH- Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Hi

    I've just set up my new RT-N66U router with my 100mbps fibre connection and my speed has fallen off a cliff. I am getting around 2-5mbps with all the speed checkers.

    Running the latest firmware (3.0.0.4.260) and flashed the router after updating. QoS is not running. I am testing the router via Cat6 1 gig ethernet.

    Any ideas what setting is causing my speed to be so low? It's not my connection as I have another router and that still allows 90-100mbps downloads.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Log in / Register to remove this ad

  3. RogerSC

    RogerSC Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,548
    Did you clear the nvram and manually enter your settings after upgrading the firmware? Power-cycle is also good.
     
  4. -AndyH-

    -AndyH- Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Thx for the response

    Tried clearing the nvram just now (telnet and mtd-erase -d nvram then
    reboot)

    That didn't help it.

    Power cycle is turning it on/off from the power switch on it? If so, done that too.
     
  5. RogerSC

    RogerSC Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,548
    Have you done anything with your cable modem since changing routers? Like resetting it? You might also try that, reset your cable modem (reset button), then remove the power from your cable modem for a while (maybe 5 minutes or so), and then allow it to come back up with your new router connected.
     
  6. bluepoint

    bluepoint Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    417
    There is a bug in firmwares 245/260 for some where 2.4 band is unstable. Clear the NVRAM then reflash to 220 or use Merlin's.
     
  7. -AndyH-

    -AndyH- Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Tried that too (it's a FTTH modem).

    I can plug in my old router and it will down at 100mbps. My Asus RT-N66U seems stuck at slow throughput.

    Just tried manually configuring it again, but the same problem. I'm confused. Is it worth trying a different firmware to see if it's a software rather than hardware issue?
     
  8. RogerSC

    RogerSC Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,548
    You could try the latest Merlin firmware (3.0.0.4.246.20):

    http://forums.smallnetbuilder.com/showthread.php?t=7846

    I doubt if there would be a difference for this particular issue, but it wouldn't hurt to try it. I'm using it, and find that it works just fine for me, I'm on regular cable, though, not fibre. Unless this is some sort of settings problem, or incompatibility between the modem and router (seems unlikely, too) it does sound like it might be hardware.
     
  9. -AndyH-

    -AndyH- Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Ok finally getting somewhere!

    When I use the wireless on the router, it works at the correct speeds.

    When I connect my 10/100/1000 switch to the router, everything connected to the switch runs at very slow speeds. Unfortunately I can't plug anything in directly to the router due to all my cables terminating in another part of the house.

    Not sure if this is a switch problem though as when I use my old router with it, all the PCs/Macs work at the 90-100mbps speed on download sites.
     
  10. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    13,019
    Location:
    Canada
    Make sure all your cables are rated Cat 5e or Cat 6 (even the one between the modem and the router).
     
  11. RogerSC

    RogerSC Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,548
    Seems like it would be fairly easy to walk up to the router with a laptop computer, pull one of the LAN cables out of the router, and plug the laptop directly into the router. This is a basic principal in troubleshooting, problem isolation, removing pieces of the problematic hardware if possible (the switch and cables connecting to it in this case) and see if the problem still happens. Much quicker way to see where the problem is. I'd be doing that, even if I had to carry a desktop computer over to the router *smile*. That's just me, though.
     
  12. -AndyH-

    -AndyH- Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Unfortunately my laptops are out of the house at the moment. Only got iPads/iPhones/iMacs and PCs.

    It's a weird problem. The Asus router definitely doesn't seem to like the Netgear GS608 switch. Everything is wired up correctly with Cat5e/6 and my previous ISP supplied router works with the setup. As the switch is unmanaged, I can't find if there is some setting that is not quite right. The speeds are 2-10mbps when using the switch and Asus router. Will phone Asus tomorrow to see if they can shed some light or if they are aware of any issues with that setup.

    I am going to be upgrading my network anyway shortly. Any recommendations for a 12-16 port gigabit switch for the Asus N66U?
     
  13. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    13,019
    Location:
    Canada
    Make sure that everything is set to auto-detect, and nothing is forcibly set to 100 or 1000 Mbits.

    Also make sure everything is set to regular frames (1500 bytes). Jumbo frames can cause more issues than it's worth it when enabled, I recommend people keep that disabled on every devices on their network. Make sure for instance that you didn't enable it on the router (under LAN -> Switch Ctrl)
     

Share This Page