What's new

Newbie - just purchased DS418Play w/ 4 x 4TB WD RED - Questions

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

gsr519

New Around Here
Hello All,

I am just getting into the NAS scene and had a few questions to the Synology/NAS vets over here

1. When I first set up this NAS it defaulted me to using Synology's SHR method (it did not give me an option to choose) for storing my files, should i be deleting this volume and choosing RAID 6? I would love to have the 12 TB of space but not sure what the most reliable method is. I will eventually buy 1 or 2 large external 8TB + drives but likely not until black friday.

2. I tried streaming a 4K movie to my TV via Plex and after a few seconds it stopped and said the NAS performance is too slow and even when I tried to switch to a lower quality (1080) it still had some issues. I thought this could transcode up to 2 4k movies at the same time. I did purchase the 4gb ram upgrade to get the unit up to 6 gb (should deliver today) will that help fix this issue? Or is 1080 the best this NAS can do?

3. Is there a software or way for me to backup my Download folder on my Samsung Note 8 and it sync daily on the DS418play? As far as i can tell, photos and movies there's a way but I constantly download music and would love for this to automatically be stored on the NAS as well.

I have many more questions but these are the ones I am most curious in solving.

Your help is appreciated.

Thank you in advance.