Newbie Seeking Advice

Discussion in 'NAS Buying Advice' started by Gismo, Nov 27, 2012.

  1. Gismo

    Gismo New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Hi, NAS newbie here, am pretty comfortable with PC repairs and fault diagnosis just never been into NAS, so, after hours of trawling review sites i reckon i've decided on the Iomega Storcenter ix4 200d CE and will likely fill it with at least 8TB but most probably 12TB.
    I've pretty much settled for this device based on that for the price i can achieve my 12TB for around $850 delivered.
    I appreciate that the Synology and Qnaps may be better and more powerful but the cost to me is hard to justify.

    Main question is, will the Storcenter manager software work on Windows 8 machines? I've asked at Iomega support, but, 48 hours in and no response :(

    Secondly, main purpose for this device is to back up all my computers on a daily / weekly / regular basis, 1 desktop and 3 laptops.
    Allow users to stream music via iTunes to their respective PC
    Stream movies to suitable TV's and dvd players.
    Personal Cloud Access from remote locations
    All files stored on the NAS will be in active use on the PC's, so, if the NAS fails i have the original files and vice versa.
    I will use 3rd party software for the back up, probably Novastor

    Thirdly, thinking of long term i'm opting for the 12TB as my photo, music and video collection increases, is this size really suitable or way over the top, i'm guessing raid choice will make a huge difference (see next question).

    Given that i have approx 4 TB of data that needs to be backed up what would be the best Raid setup for me? I'm thinking Raid 5 but opinions by those who know better than me would be appreciated
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2012
  2. Log in / Register to remove this ad

  3. stevech

    stevech Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    5,606
    Location:
    San Diego
    If I were you, I'd re-read the reviews of the trail of IOmega NAS products. Me, I'd not buy that brand, due to inadequate NAS software.
     
  4. Gismo

    Gismo New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks for the response, to be honest i've probably over researched there are good and bad for every device.
     
  5. travisco_nabisco

    travisco_nabisco Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    I had an Iomega ix2-200 for a few years and the biggest issue with it was that the web management interface became unreachable after about 30 days of operation. I would have to restart the NAS to get it back. Restarting it meant pulling the power cord since the power button didn't seem to shut the NAS down.

    It is possible that their new NAS OS is more reliable, but based on past experience I would avoid the Iomega brand.
     
  6. Gismo

    Gismo New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Hmm, as i expected, looks like i'm gonna have to rethink my strategy, perhaps budget over security is not the right thought plan.
    So, review time again, Synology v Qnaps v Thecus v budget :(
     
  7. Jeje2

    Jeje2 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Finland
    same situation...

    I so feel your pain - in same situation here.
    The only thing I've been able to decide for sure is that I shall buy a 4-bay NAS with 2 WD 3T red hard-drives. ATM. most fancied in Synologys DS412+, but it is really expensive, well above what I had planned... (If only I could be assured that DS413(/j) is enough for me :rolleyes: )
     
  8. Gismo

    Gismo New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Hmm, perhaps I can look at only 2 hard drives now and add 2 more when funds allow.
    For reassurance, can I simply add 2 drives later and expect the NAS to sort out the Raid?
    That being ok I could maybe stretch to that now
     
  9. Jeje2

    Jeje2 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Finland
    AFAIK - yes you can...
    Just as an example - here is a link to QNAP products and their RAID migration & expansion. So you can begin with RAID 1 as you have 2 disks and when you buy disk #3 you can change to RAID 5.

    As we apparently are in similar situation... let's keep each others updated on this selection process, as the more I have read the more confused I am :(
     
  10. Gismo

    Gismo New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Good idea, my last question before i make my mind up is regarding hard disks, Synology are quite adamant that only certain disks should be used, however, red disks are touted as being ok for any NAS system.
    Will i have any warranty issues with Synology if i use the red disks?

    Finally, what are your main queries regarding the 412+ and the 413?
     
  11. Gismo

    Gismo New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Ok, here goes, with all my previous reading and money not entering the equation i had opted for the Synology 412+, if anyone can confirm that these disks from Amazon will work and be supported by Synolgy in the event of any warranty claim i'm ready purchase.

    Initially with 2 hard drives on a Raid 1 which is a mirror, then when funds allow 2 further drives and a change to raid 5, which is my ultimate goal

    Edit: This review is my deciding factor, am away to order the 412+ and 2 red drives

    Edit 2: I can confirm that the Amazon 3TB drives are WD30EFRX and are listed on the Synology compatibility page

    Edit 3: Ordered the Synology 412+ on BestBuy, tried ordering 4 red drives on Amazon only to be thwarted by their pathetic maximum quantity of 3 only items, so, ordered 4 red drives from JR.com, opted for the cheapest delivery should all be with me in a week, well chuffed that i decided against the Iomega, but, absolutely skint, lol
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2012
  12. Jeje2

    Jeje2 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Finland
    413 or 412+ - that's the question?

    Well good for you that you made up your mind so easily. :D
    I'm still drifting between DS413 and DS412+ ... :eek:
    Do I need the extra of DS412+ at all or should DS413 meet all my needs as is. (OK have found with only 75eur price difference)

    Yeah WD 3T red (WD30EFRX) are gonna be my hard drives as well.

    Life is so difficult... :p
     
  13. Gismo

    Gismo New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    well, if i could help i would, i'm too new to NAS to give a reasoned explanation, but, if it's power and speed you need then it's a no brainer, 412+, but, if you can accept the slower read / write and smaller processor then the 413.
    Good luck with your choice i'm just glad my quest is over :D
     

Share This Page