No FW Upgrade for 11 months

Discussion in 'ASUS N Routers & Adapters' started by Smithkid, Jan 28, 2013.

  1. Smithkid

    Smithkid New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Running V 3.0.0.3.100 loaded Feb 2012. Wanting to setup a 4G USB wireless modem for emergency internet access. Asus compatability list says my Sierra 320U is supported with FW V 3.0.0.4.260

    So long since I have done this just checking on procedure.

    1. Save my settings (In Administration)
    2. Get copy of new FW and place on computer
    3. Go to firmware upgrade (In Administration) and load new fw
    4. Wait for router to reboot
    5. Restore my settings

    Is that it or should I do a hard reset?

    Should I worry about clearing NVRAM?
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2013
  2. Log in / Register to remove this ad

  3. jerry6

    jerry6 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    383
    Location:
    Montreal
    2 YOU HAVE TO UZIP THE FW , 3 upload TRX file
     
  4. nubyOz

    nubyOz Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    The NVRAM is increasing with that firmware, your will not be ale to restore settings.
    Write them down or use screenshots.
    Consider RMErlin FW while you are at it. rocks
     
  5. RogerSC

    RogerSC Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,658
    Yes, some people have had trouble with the wireless drivers in .260 Asus firmware version. Merlin's firmware includes the previous working version of the wireless drivers, so do consider it. And yes, you will need to clear your router's nvram.
     
  6. Smithkid

    Smithkid New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    So I clear the NVRAM BOTH before and after loading new FW (which must be unzipped)?

    To Clear NVRAM

    Hold WPS button, power down, power up, wait 10-15 seconds and release WPS button

    Can't restore the settings so make notes or screenshots and manually reset them all.
     
  7. RogerSC

    RogerSC Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,658
    I don't usually clear the nvram before I upgrade, just after, but some people do that and it won't hurt in any case. But yes, you have to manually re-enter your settings for the upgrade that you're doing. And yes, you should be upgrading using a .trx file, not a .zip file.

    Sounds like this should go well for you, you've got it down *smile*.
     

Share This Page