What's new

Noob Advice RE: Blue Cave Losing 2.4GHz Band

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Drinkerbelle

New Around Here
Okay, this is going to be quite long as I am a network noob; as such, I don’t know which items of information are important, and which may not be. Networking may not be in my wheelhouse (yet), but my senior grey matter is willing to learn... if someone is willing to be patient with me.

If I’m really not in the right place, perhaps someone could kindly direct me to a site where my long query would be better suited?

My BlueCave router has been losing the 2.4 GHz radio band fairly regularly since May (I bought it in January). It still maintains the 5 GHz band, but when my 2.4 band IOT devices disconnect… it is my first indication my 2.4 band has gone on hiatus.

When this happens, the client list in my router UI will not show anything for the 2.4 GHz band. (And if it matters, no, my SSID is NOT hidden.)

When turning on wifi for my phone, laptop, et al., my SSID for the 2.4 GHz band does not appear as a connection option.

My firmware version is the most current (3.0.0.4.384_45708).

I operate in wireless router mode, I've reset my control channel to 11 (from auto) to avoid any congestion from adjacent neighbors (as I live in a condo, and my adjacent neighbors appear to be on 1 or 6).

I disconnected my Blue Cave and connected my older RTN-66U Dark Knight router and had no difficulty with my 2.4 GHz band.

I performed a factory reset for my Blue Cave mid-May, renamed my SSID (differently for both bands), reconfigured from scratch, and tried connecting some devices to a dedicated guest network on the 2.4 band. I’ve changed out my modem to router Cat6 ethernet cable.