What's new

Noob MoCA configuration question

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Zman

New Around Here
This is a total NOOB question but for whatever reason, I simply cannot wrap my head around it so I turn to the experts here...

Right now, I do wireless throughout my house and now I want to do MoCA throughout the house. I have a MoCA enabled cable/modem and router. I do NOT have cable tv subscription (but CATV is wired through the house). I only use the cable from TimeWarner for internet only. Here is what I cannot wrap my head around. Another challenge is I have NO IDEA as to the entry point from the street, I am assuming it is direct, but I cannot confirm that. All I know is that I have a single connected internet cable in my office that gets me internet (see...NOOB here... lol).

My current setup (via text form from left to right)...Works well but want to clear dead spots and improve connectivity and throughput.

Internet from Street >>> Cable Modem/Router >>> Wireless to Room 1
>>> Wireless to Room 2
>>> Wireless to Room 3
>>> Wireless for mobile users

What I WANT is the following:

Internet from Street >>> Cable Modem/Router >>> Wireless for mobile users (no change required)
>>> MoCA adapter to Room 1
>>> MoCA adapter to Room 2
>>> MoCA adapter to Room 3

I get the terminating use of the MoCA adapters in the downstream rooms (1-3). Ie, I would take CATV nub >>> MoCA Adapter >>> Ethernet >> Device

What I cant get through my pea brain is how to get the signal to the CATV house wiring AFTER the router via a MoCA adapter?!?!

Specifically, I would THINK I would need....
Internet from street >>> Cable Modem/Router >>> Ethernet cable >>> MoCA adapter >>> COAX to rest of house...