NTP and WiFi scheduling issue

Discussion in 'ASUS N Routers & Adapters' started by axti, Feb 6, 2013.

  1. axti

    axti New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Hi,
    NTP (network time protocol) and WiFi scheduling do not work on my RT-N66U.

    The RT-N66U is configured as WiFi-AP (i.e. router disabled), connected to a Cisco cable modem. I configured a port forwarding rule in the Cisco (port 123) to allow NTP traffic to reach the RT-N66U at local LAN IP (fixed IP, 192.168.0.9). Not sure that this is really required, but I think it doesn't hurt.

    Internet connection for computers connected to the RT-N66U works fine, no problems at all.

    If the RT-N66U is turned on (or at every re-boot), time/date is lost and reset to Jan 1 2011. This seems to be common behaviour, according to information I got through various internet forums. But then NTP should pick the correct time/date - which does not work.
    I configured pool.ntp.org as the ntp server (I also tried others, even fixed IP addresses). Even if I hit "Apply" on that page, nothing happens - time/date stays at Jan 1 2011. I also extended the Cisco's port forwarding rule to ALL ports for test purposes - no change.
    I can set the time/date through telnet, but this is only a temporary workaround until next re-boot. I really need ntp to schedule WiFi...
    Scheduling WiFi does not work also. The time periods I configure through the corresponding web page have no effect, i.e. the WiFi will not turn off at the configured time (time/date set correctly through telnet at this time).
    Maybe this is a side effect of the ntp issue, maybe time/date set through telnet is not used for WiFi scheduling - I don't know.

    WiFi schedulue DID work a couple of days ago when the RT-N66U was configured as router (at that time I had a different cable modem without routing function). So maybe WiFi scheduling is only an issue when used as WiFi-AP.

    Firmware used: 3.0.0.4.270 and 3.0.0.4.260

    Any help would be appreciated!

    Thanks.

    axti
     
  2. Log in / Register to remove this ad

  3. Advis

    Advis New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    I can vouch for NTP working in router mode under firmware 3.0.0.4.260. I have never used WiFi scheduling though. From what you describe it almost certainly sounds like a bug in ASUSWRT when you are in AP only mode.

    I would contact ASUS support and describe what you have written in this thread to them. Hopefully they will agree and get a fix in a future release.

    The only other thing I can suggest you try is the Merlin firmware available through the relevant section in this forum. The author updated the Busybox component to deal with a daylight savings problem with NTP so you might get lucky and get it fixed through that.
     
  4. axti

    axti New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks for replying, Advis.

    Just found

    http://forums.smallnetbuilder.com/showpost.php?p=58622&postcount=2

    This confirms that ntp is working only in router mode, not AP mode.

    Is this also true for Asuswrt-Merlin firmware...? And what about WiFi scheduling? Does it work with Asuswrt-Merlin?

    I think I need to give Asuswrt-Merlin a try...

    axti
     
  5. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    13,259
    Location:
    Canada
    Scheduling requires working NTP (for obvious reasons, unless you still live in December 2011 ;) )

    I haven't changed anything there. I might eventually look at making NTP work while in AP mode, but no promises.
     
  6. axti

    axti New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Hm - for me, scheduling should work as soon as the time/date is set correctly, either by NTP or manually (through telnet, then "date -s YYYY.MM.DD-hh:mm:ss").

    Is there anything wrong how I set the time manually? I'm no Linux expert...do I need root access to set time/date to make WiFi scheduling working?

    Do you know some more details why NTP is not working in AP mode? The process is up and running (ntpclient, checked by ps command) and the box has internet access...

    Thanks.

    axti
     
  7. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    13,259
    Location:
    Canada
    It's just how Asus decided to implement it in the current FW architecture. I haven't looked close enough yet to see if there was a technical reason for it to work that way, or if it would be possible to change.

    AP mode related stuff hasn't been a priority for me at this point. I have focused my time on the router mode as this is the most commonly used configuration. Maybe at some later point I'll have time to take a closer look at it.
     
  8. axti

    axti New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Update:

    ASUS has responded to my request:

    They say they tested the function and can not confirm my problem. The device is considered defect and I should replace it...

    According to what I've learned from RMerlin, ASUS does not seem to know their devices very well...

    axti
     

Share This Page