What's new

[Solved] OpenVPN server-client: How do I get server LANs visible on client's side?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

majortom

Occasional Visitor
Hi all,

I am a noob regarding OpenVPN. But in order to get my local LAN accessible over Internet I followed several recommendations and tried to get OpenVPN working.

Following this thread I successfully get a working connection between my home router (RTAC56U) and a client on an office computer:
https://www.snbforums.com/threads/what-is-best-secure-setup-for-openvpn.37342/

I just want to get connected to my home LAN. I do not want to tunnel my Internet traffic through this VPN.

I have got a working connection, but now I am stuck. I do not see any of my LAN resources on client's side.

My setup:

Router Asus RTAC56U, firmware 380.65

Home LAN at 192.168.1.0 255.255.255.0
Office LAN at 10.0.0.0 255.255.255.0
OpenVPN client's LAN at 10.8.0.2 255.255.255.0

OpenVPN Server advanced settings:

Interface Type: TUN
Protocol: UDP
Server Port: 1194
Firewall: Auto
Authorization Mode: TLS
Username/Password Auth: Yes
TLS control channel security: Encrypt channel
Auth digest: SHA1
VPN Subnet / Netmask: 10.8.0.0 255.255.255.0
Poll Interval: 0
Push LAN to clients: Yes
Direct clients to redirect Internet traffic: No
Respond to DNS: No
Advertise DNS to client: No
Cipher Negotiation: Enable (with fallback)
Negotiable ciphers: AES-128-GCM:AES-256-GCM:AES-128-CBC:AES-256-CBC
Compression: Disabled
TLS Renegotiation Time: -1
Global Log verbosity: 3
Manage Client-Specific Options: No

Is there anything I have to do to make those LAN resources visible on client's side?
Did I made anything wrong? Do I have to set those two DNS option to "yes"?