What's new

OpenVPN server on ASUS issues...

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

smcgrath12

Occasional Visitor
Hello, I am not sure why my OpenVPN server is not working on ASUS RT-AC66U. This is my first time setting up OpenVPN on Merlin (I am running 380.59). I recently changed my software from DD-WRT to Merlin (mainly because I have AT&T Fiber and I only get 300 Mbps download on DD-WRT, versus around 950 Mbps on Merlin).

My router LAN IP is 192.168.4.0/24
My OpenVPN server IP is 192.168.9.0/24

My OpenVPN implementation was working on DD-WRT for connected Windows and IOS clients. I am using the same certificates for authentication on Merlin. Here is what I had on DD-WRT. The only exception is that the original router for DD-WRT as ASUS RT-68. Now, my router is ASUS RT-66.

--------------------------------------------------

1. In my "Commands", for the "Startup" script, I had this line "echo "1" > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward"

--------------------------------------------------

2. For the OpenVPN additional config, I had this:

push "route 192.168.4.0 255.255.255.0"
server 192.168.9.0 255.255.255.0
push "redirect-gateway def1"
push "dhcp-option DNS 8.8.8.8"
dev tun0
proto udp
port 443
keepalive 10 120
dh /tmp/openvpn/dh.pem
ca /tmp/openvpn/ca.crt
cert /tmp/openvpn/cert.pem
key /tmp/openvpn/key.pem
management localhost 5001

-------------------------------------------------------------------

3. In my "Commands", for the "Firewall" script, I had this:

# Allow hostile traffic to connect to the OpenVPN server
iptables -I INPUT 1 -p udp --dport 443 -j ACCEPT

# Allow TUN interface connections to OpenVPN server
iptables -I INPUT 2 -i tun0 -j ACCEPT

# Allow traffic initiated from VPN to access LAN