What's new

Opinion's on the Asus RT-AC87

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Maverick3837

New Around Here
I have been using the RT-AC87 for about 5 years now, and it has always been a rock solid router in my opinion. My friend has the opportunity to purchase one, but as with anything, technology moves fast, and for the price of an RT-AC87, there are other routers out there with better performance for the price. What are your personal opinions of the RT-AC87, and is it worth even considering buying that router anymore due to it's age. The only reason I ask, is because of the success that I have personally had with it, and how fun the Merlin Firmware is! :) His router useage is about like mine. Movie streaming, web browsing, nothing a cheapo router probably couldn't handle.

If your current router meets all your needs, I would not buy new. Historically, I have only purchased new routers because my devices had newer capability that my current router did not support. I used to take one of my older routers on vacation with me when the hotels had bad WiFi. Now, I don't even do that since all my devices that I have with me use a VPN service and hotel WiFi is usually pretty darn good.

I have never recommended the RT-AC87U and I would find it hard to recommend it today.

There are much better alternatives like the RT-AC66U version 'B' for example, which is essentially an updated RT-AC68U with full RMerlin support.