What's new

patch panel help

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

toyz72

Occasional Visitor
my house was built in 2009,and im wanting to add a cat5e patch panel. the existing wiring is set up using a phone panel. they did run cat5e lines to my rooms,so im thinking i can remove them and add them on to a patch panel instead?

all this is behind an e-panel upstairs. im trying to find a small patch panel the will fit inside this box,or at least mount to the wall. i only really need 3 ports,but it seems the smallest i can find is 12 port. can you guys recommend me a good patch panel and recommend where to buy it?

i'm pretty new to all this and want to learn how to punch it down myself. thanks for the help.

10.JPG
10.JPG

Attachments

• 11.JPG
    11.JPG
    61.8 KB · Views: 470
Another option is to terminate all the Cat5 cables in your cabinet with RJ45 male plugs (568B pinning) . Convert all the phone jacks to Ethernet jacks using Keystone jacks. (568B pinning). Put a small 8 - port switch inside the enclosure. The TP-Link 8 - Port Gigabit switch I use dimensions are 6.2 x 4.0 x 1.0 inches so it will easily fit inside your enclosure and it doesn't draw many watts so heat won't be a big problem. A gigabyte switch often costs less than a patch panel.

Install your router in the best or even present location in your home. If you are using WiFi it should be centrally located it needs to be close to one of the Ethernet jacks you have converted from a telephone jack and it needs to be close to your cable modem. The feed the output of your router back to your switch by connecting a LAN port on your router to anyone of the eight LAN ports on your switch.