What's new

port forwarding limitation

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

toejam

Occasional Visitor
I'm getting an Asus RT-AC68P and am looking forward to installing rmerlin on the device. I have quite a few network devices, including at least 15 security cameras. Each of the cameras is setup with a unique port and I setup port forwarding rules to access the cameras in my LAN from the internet. My old router (Netgear r6300v2) has a limitation on the number of port forwarding rules I can apply. I'm curious what the limitation on number of port forwarding rules is for rmerlin?

Please pardon me if I'm not using the correct lingo, I'm new to Asus and rmerlin. Looking forward to hearing constructive feedback.

Just came across an asus "How to" website that shows a max port forwarding limit of 32. Is this the case with rmerlin?

RMerlin usually increases (for the better) any options Asus exposes. If 32 is the normal, then RMerlin will have at least that (sorry, don't use that feature).

Why don't you use OpenVPN to access your network securely instead though?

Been reading for the past couple hours on vpn. It brings even more questions and I'm just taking baby steps at this time. If I'm at a McDonalds using their free (but throttled) wifi I'd imagine that my throughput would be even less with a VPN. I already know how to do port forwarding, just run short of allowed rules due to all the security cameras.