Problem with new internet

Discussion in 'General Wireless Discussion' started by Linning, Feb 23, 2013.

  1. Linning

    Linning Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    I just recently upgraded my internet plan and I'm not getting the downloads speeds I should be getting. We had a guy come in and he installed an external antenna. We have WISP internet. We tested the new internet with speedtest.net before the guy left and these are the results we got

    http://www.speedtest.net/result/2528078802.png

    Later after the guy left we tried downloading several large files to test our new internet but we can only get it up to about 350kbps. The router we currently use is a Linksys WRT54G. Do you guys think if I got a new router I would see faster speeds?

    Internet provider -We have the residential Xstream packagehttps://wwws.razzolink.com/
     
  2. Log in / Register to remove this ad

  3. Mangix

    Mangix Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    no

    The WRT54G is useful up to ~27mbps. For smaller than that, it's fine.
     
  4. Linning

    Linning Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    11
  5. CaptainSTX

    CaptainSTX Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    672
    You would probably get better range/ coverage on your 2.4Ghz connected devices. IF YOU HAVE ANY 5 Ghz devices and they are used in the vicinity of the router it could be a plus.

    The ASUS has a good user interface and gives you the ability to connect both a USB drive and a USB printer directly to the router.

    Finally with the routers faster processor and lager memory vs the 54G you may get better throughput if you have multiple users connected at the same time.
     
  6. stevech

    stevech Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    5,604
    Location:
    San Diego
    WRT54G on the wired side will, as said above, do fine for that speed, though it is lacking 11n support but that may not matter to you.
    350K bits per second is not good, unless the distance/walls intervening limited the speed.

    The speedtest results are quite unusual in that the uplink rate is not 1/8th or so of the downlink rate as is common for $50/mo type service.

    Was your download done via WiFi or wired ethernet?

    You speedtest results are very good, or could be, depending on the ISP's prices.
     
  7. Linning

    Linning Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks for the replies. Both speedtest.net and the downloads were done through the same computer with wifi at the same location (Only about 40 ft from the wireless router in another room). I decided to upgrade and buy the ASUS N66U with the ASUS N53 adapater and see if I get any more problems from there.
     
  8. Radiator

    Radiator Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    4G "Broadband"

    This is the 4G residential service right?

    "Individual speeds may vary due to distance from base station, network usage, and local conditions."
     
  9. Linning

    Linning Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    I'm not sure what you really mean, but I think we have 3G service in our area because my phone only uses 3G here. We live in the country a few miles from the city. That is why I settled for WISP since there is no DSL or Cable internet available.

    I just finished installing the new ASUS N66U router and the download speed is still the same. I'm tempted to call up the WISP company, but they might have to send a guy here and that would cost a lot..
     
  10. Nerre

    Nerre Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    3G or 4G, same thing, you share the base station bandwidth with other users, so the maximum speed you get depends on how many other users are using it.

    You can try speedtest.net different times of the day and see how the available bandwidth varies.

    You say download speeds are low, but what does speedtest.et say now? Still getting the same speed there? Then the bottleneck isn't on your side.
     

Share This Page