What's new

QNAP TS-251B + Samsung 860PRO SSD 4TB

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Ryan Carlson

New Around Here
Hello, I'm looking for advice for the build in the subject line. I'm a landscape architect starting my own small office. It will be two people at first, then hopefully 1-2 more. We will run Adobe Suite, AutoCAD and other 3D modeling software. We will be copying and saving 1 GB files with several programs open at one time. I am considering Raid 0 for speed. BTW the router is a Netgear 7800. Thanks in advance. Ryan

With SSD's, you want at least a three Bay NAS. HDD's are less expensive to recover data from than a single, large capacity SSD.

The QNAP TS-332X would be the lowest end model I would be considering.

https://www.smallnetbuilder.com/nas/nas-reviews/33214-qnap-ts-332x-three-bay-10gbe-nas-reviewed

The 10GbE performance is lower than expected, but with testing and the newer QTS software available now, it may have reached an acceptable level?

The real solution is an Intel i3 core with 16GB ram or better and 6 or more drive bays, but then we're talking about serious performance which will demand 10GbE connections to the client computers too.

With SSD's, you want at least a three Bay NAS. HDD's are less expensive to recover data from than a single, large capacity SSD.

The QNAP TS-332X would be the lowest end model I would be considering.

https://www.smallnetbuilder.com/nas/nas-reviews/33214-qnap-ts-332x-three-bay-10gbe-nas-reviewed

The 10GbE performance is lower than expected, but with testing and the newer QTS software available now, it may have reached an acceptable level?