What's new

Questions about NAS

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

reddevil0728

Regular Contributor
I'm pretty new to NAS and not extremely well verse with the terms used for networking solutions so would appreciate if you could advise me in more layman's terms. TIA!

I have been reading the guides in the stickies so I have a bit of idea on what's going on, but before I am embark on more extensive research on which NAS suits me, I would appreciate some clarifications/advices.

So to answer the question "What do you want it to do?", this is what I require.

- Support the more common platforms of Windows, Mac, IOS and Android
- At least 2-Bay, preferably diskless for flexibility
- *Supports recording to 'root folder' and/or 'samba server' (or are they the same thing?)
- Gigabit Lan
- At least 1xUSB 3.0
- Primarily using it for:
- Time Machine backup for MAC
- Recording from Trendnet POE IP Camera (hence '*')
- Secondary usage:
- Cloud storage

I am still unsure which router I would be getting, but I don't believe it actually matters right? Anyway it would definitely be one of the latest AC routers, currently inclining towards ASUS AC87U or AC3200.

So a few questions here...

1. Have I answered all the questions about why and what I need the NAS to do? If not what else should I look out for?
  2. I value quality, but it must also be value for money, so what brands of NAS should I focus my attention on?
  3. I will assume a home grade NAS will work well for me?
  4. If I am not looking at doing RAID 1, would I be able to use my the 2 HDD separately for different purposes?
  5. If I get a 4-Bay NAS, would I be able to have 2 sets of RAID 1?