re-flash

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by bazzly, Feb 23, 2013.

  1. bazzly

    bazzly Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    So do the same rules apply for re-flash as DDwrt? 30-30-30? Or is it safe to just re-flash without doing a reset?
    I couldnt find anything...
     
  2. Log in / Register to remove this ad

  3. Zomby_Woof

    Zomby_Woof New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    I'm wondering the same thing, I'd like to try the Merlin firmware to see if I can resolve a connection problem with my two Apple Airport Express G routers.
     
  4. joegreat

    joegreat Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    566
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    How to reset the Asus RT-N66U router?

    Hi,

    There is no 30-30-30 thing on the Asus RT-N66U device. :eek:

    A reset (before and after flashing) is still a good idea if you come from or go to a different firmware or you do a firmware jump over multiple version.

    On the DD-WRT wiki page for the RT-N66U the functionally of the hardware buttons explains the reset procedure:
    With kind regards
    Joe :cool:
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2013
  5. Zomby_Woof

    Zomby_Woof New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    A reset puts the router in recovery mode, is there anything else to do after its in this mode or do I just leave it.
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2013
  6. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    14,338
    Location:
    Canada
    See the Wiki in my signature, it has articles on flashing, flashing back, etc...
     
  7. joegreat

    joegreat Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    566
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Hi,

    Do you have any specific need to go to the recovery mode?
    Nobody asked you to do so... :confused:

    With kind regards
    Joe :cool:

    PS.: In recovey mode you have to use Firmware Restoration Utility from Asus to install firmware.
    But again: You do not need to go down this route... :rolleyes:
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2013
  8. RogerSC

    RogerSC Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,616
    Using recovery mode is a good way to go if things go wrong the usual way. It has worked for me when a "normal" flash doesn't seem to work. I've also used it when I didn't want to bother worrying about whether a "normal" flash would work, since flashing from recovery mode using the Asus "Rescue" utility pretty nearly always works. Takes longer, but you only have to do it once *smile*.
     
  9. bazzly

    bazzly Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Just as a heads up... I just reflashed my router, and it would not go on line what so ever. I was using the router as a local DNS server, once I turned it off I was able to get on line.

    So if your running DNS locally and cant get online you may want to remove your settings......(Under LAN-DHCP-Server-DNS and WINS Server Setting)

    I also found that even tho I had Persistent JFFS2 clicked off it is still enabled...
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2013

Share This Page