What's new

Really Basic L2 Managed Switch Question

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

randallhill

Occasional Visitor
I'm new to L2 managed switch's for home use. I recently purchased a TP-Link TL-SG3216 switch (installed latest FW). My LAN chain is ATT U-Verse RG modem (Internet only)--->Netgear R6300v2 WiFi Gigabit router--->TP-Link L2 Switch--->Windows comps Gigabit NICS/two NASs Gigabit NICs/AVR/Oppo/HDTV wired CAT 5E/6. One NAS NIC is bonded LACP (802.3ad) and LAG 1 on the switch, the switch supports 802.3ad. No Jumbo Frames enabled anywhere on the local LAN...seems to slow the throughput if added at 9000 on NAS and Windows NICS (separate issue).

My question is:
I want to use a NTP server to configure the date/time feature on the switch. I need to set up the switch for internet access to ping the NTP server. The switch GUI IP is the default 192.168.0.1 subnet 255.255.255.0, which is setup as a static IP on the switch (Static/DHCP/BOOTP). TP-Link support indicated that I need to enter an IP for the switch Gateway to access the internet, the Gateway input field is currently blank.

The local LAN gateway via the Netgear router is 10.0.0.1, same subnet. All of the devices attached to the L2 switch is in the 10.0.0.2-10.0.0.99 range. The external gateway IP (ATT modem) is 99.13.6x.xxx.

What IP address do I use for the L2 switch Gateway? I've tried a few different IPs but the switch says "invalid gateway address".