What's new

recomendation for new router purchase

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

3stan

New Around Here
Hi, i'm newbie here. Please be kind. I wanted to purchase a new router but confused what to get after reading tons of reviews and guides. My isp provided combo router is really slow now. Here's the setup i got the isp combo router a 8 port switch all 6 pc connected by ethernet from my house mates and mine, and mobile phones each and a few tablets.

I play lots of online games and i want to get full control and monitor on my network, a good qos and decent wifi range, about $150 budget. Any recomendation? Tia

need more info, such as
  • What is the ISP down/up speed you pay for?
  • Is the ISP cable or DSL. Lucky if FIOS. Unlucky if U-Verse
  • Is the modem you use ISP-provided? What is it? Is it an all-in-one modem/router/WiFi (hope not)
  • Do your WiFi devices all get a good signal today?
  • etc

isp: ooredoo qatar dsl
bandwith: 4mbps/0.5mbps

The modem is isp provided router-wifi all in 1 thomson( forgot the model) .too bad

I got decent signal over wifi about 3m.

those DSL speeds are slow in comparison to worldwide averages. The 0.5 up is the constraint.

Will ISP permit customer owned equipment?

WiFi - is 3m a typographical error?

If you want good QoS, you probably need to find a wireless router that supports tomato firmware.

If you want great QoS, you probably need something like IPFire or pfSense, which are free and can installed on an old PC.

There are many options, but be careful because QoS/traffic-shaping is not easy to properly configure.

those DSL speeds are slow in comparison to worldwide averages. The 0.5 up is the constraint.

Will ISP permit customer owned equipment?