What's new

Recommended NAS for Multiple Streaming

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

c2.larios

New Around Here
Hi everyone! thanks for taking the time to read this - I'm new to NAS and it's applications so please bear with e here.
The school I work here for currently checks out DVDs for students that comes here. I'd like to remove that and just load all available titles onto a NAS and allow students to stream from there rooms using the existing bluray players.
We have this building with 15 rooms furnished with a small older LCD TV(I think 28 inch?), and a Sony BDPS380 blu-ray player. Each room also has 2 network ports.

What I'd like to do is to get a NAS / or build a media server capable of streaming media to these rooms simultaneously. At our fullest, we house about 13 students at a time.
My concern is if at least half of that number goes and watch something using the bluray player, how slow the connection would be and what hardware would be best for this application.

Thank you for reading!

A max of 13 separate streams is not that much really.

Although using a blue ray player might be a challenge. Would tablets, laptops or PCs be an option?

I have a slightly older version of that BR player. I don't see an exhaustive list of what the slightly newer one supports, but I am pretty sure it will not support streaming from local network for any of the "apps" that it supports. You'll need to get a media streamer that supports local network playback to be able to use a NAS for anything.