What's new

route certain domains through client vpn

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

waeking

Regular Contributor
Is there a way to route certain domains through a client vpn?

I have been using Asus Merlin's build for a few months now. I moved from TomatoUSB to here. There is no going back. The only thing missing is to route domain names. With the use of cloudflare and others you can't rely and ip addresses any more for routing certain places through a vpn anymore.

On Tomato this was handled by the gui. I am ok with scripts and such. Just haven't been able to find a thread started on here.

TIA

I have the ipset working well....

added /jffs/configs/dnsmasq.conf.add
Code:
ipset=/whatismyip.org/VPNTUN12_V4

but when I use
Code:
iptables -I PREROUTING -t mangle -m set --match-set VPNTUN12_V4 dst -j MARK --set-mark 10012
iptables v1.4.15: Set VPNTUN12_V4 doesn't exist.

I have the ipset working well....

added /jffs/configs/dnsmasq.conf.add
Code:
ipset=/whatismyip.org/VPNTUN12_V4

but when I use
Code:
iptables -I PREROUTING -t mangle -m set --match-set VPNTUN12_V4 dst -j MARK --set-mark 10012
iptables v1.4.15: Set VPNTUN12_V4 doesn't exist.
You need to manually create the IPSET before dnsmasq can auto-populate it
Code:
ipset create VPNTUN12_V4 hash:net family inet hashsize 1024 maxelem 65536
then get dnsmasq to populate it
e.g.
Code:
cat /etc/dnsmasq.conf | grep ipset

nslookup whatismyip.org

ipset list VPNTUN12_V4

Last edited:
Thanks so much I got it working. I wish I knew more about scripting to automate some of it.

I added this to dnsmasq.conf.add, it will allow *.conf to be added to the dnsmasq.conf
Code:
conf-dir=/tmp/mnt/Merlin/dnsmasq.d/,*.conf