What's new

Router - Firewall- Confused

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

mcn

New Around Here
Hi all,

I would like some help with choosing a cable router and/or firewall for my home/office network. I am not technically savvie and am somewhat confused on whether i need a separate hardware firewall or if a router firewall is good enough.
Security is important but so is speed. I wish to ensure that i retain as much of the speed entering the modem throughout the network. I'll have 5 pc's plus printer, storage etc and, at some point, laptops and tablets.

From the router charts i see that the Cisco RV320 has the highest throughput and so am considering that but i don't understand how it stacks up security wise as a firewall. Or would it make sense to have a separate firewall (which leads on to which choice)? or would a consumer router be secure and fast enough?

As you see, this novice is very confused and would greatly appreciate any help with this, thank you. :confused:

Hi all,

I would like some help with choosing a cable router and/or firewall for my home/office network. I am not technically savvie and am somewhat confused on whether i need a separate hardware firewall or if a router firewall is good enough.
Security is important but so is speed. I wish to ensure that i retain as much of the speed entering the modem throughout the network. I'll have 5 pc's plus printer, storage etc and, at some point, laptops and tablets.