What's new

Router Setup Questions, Merlin FW 384.14_2 on RT-AC68U

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

TotalRouterNoob

New Around Here
I've been reading this forum for a while, trying to learn from the good folks here but still have lots of questions on my router settings. I searched but can’t find answers that I can understand for the questions below. My router has remote access from WAN, telnet, ssh, dmz, upnp, port forwarding, IPv6, servers all turned off/disabled. There are no custom scripts or any NAS attached. Please remember, I’m a noob when answering and trying to get my router setup as securely as possible. Thank you so much for any help.
  1. Under "System Log/Routing Table" it shows the following info and I don't remember anything being there previously. What does the below text mean, is this a security issue?:
IPv4 Routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
192.168.xxx.xx * 255.255.xxx.x U 0 0 0 LAN

1) Under Tools/Advanced Tweaks & Hacks
a) Firewall: Drop IPv6 neighbour solicitation broadcast? What is the purpose/meaning of this setting, I don’t use IPv6 at this time.
b) Disable asusnat tunnel Y/N? Can’t find a definitive answer on what the asusnat tunnel is. Please explain.
c) Dhcpd: send empty WPAD w/carriage return. Can someone explain what this is?
d) WAN: Use local caching DNS server as system resolver. Can someone explain what this is?

2) Under LAN/DNS Filter, do I need to add all my devices’ MAC addresses in order for the DNS-based filtering to work?

3) WAN/Internet Connection:
a) Forward local domain queries to upstream DNS. What does this mean?
b) Enable DNS Rebind protection. What does this mean?

4) Under System/Remote Access Configuration: