What's new

Router web accessibility from WAN/internet when an openvpn client is running

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

janedoe

New Around Here
Hello I'm fairly new with Merlin setting but I noticed that when I have an openvpn client running and having my internet traffic going through it, the router administrative log page is then accessible from the internet by http on the public ip that my vpn service has given to me. It is not quite a surprise because this IP is bind to the router by the openvpn client and then the openvpn client shortcircuit the WAN access which normally block in the Administration/System settings.

So my question are :
- does this put router vulnerability like infosvr exploitable by people theoratically not in my LAN ?
- how to prevent this router access through the openvpn client ?

- Is there a way to have a log of Merlin administration login attempts ?

Please apologize for the newbie questions.

Thank you in advance

Last edited:
Hello I'm fairly new with Merlin setting but I noticed that when I have an openvpn client running and having my internet traffic going through it, the router administrative log page is then accessible from the internet by http on the public ip that my vpn service has given to me. It is not quite a surprise because this IP is bind to the router by the openvpn client and then the openvpn client shortcircuit the WAN access which normally block in the Administration/System settings.
When on the inside network, you can connect to the router administrative page using either the it's inside or outside IP address. Since you are connected with the VPN, you are logically inside so can do anything you could from inside.
So my question are :