What's new

RT-AC3100 Refurbished but having problems

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

energized

Occasional Visitor
Hello, first posting, a complete newbie as far a routers go, last purchased the D-Link 615 (Version B).

I purchased the AC3100, refurbished router, followed the directions, and got blazing speeds compared to the 615 router. I just left everything as I found it, except changing the network name and password. Everything was great!

Until, I noticed I wasn't on that router any more, so I reconnected to the 615. Thus began a series of problems.

First, only the 5ghz LED was on, but I still couldn't see any wireless network to sign onto for the 3100. I read here, and then did the factory reset. That left the power light blinking for about an hour. I then unplugged it, waited 30 seconds, and plugged it in again. It then had the LED for the WAN lit, which seems as if it alternates between red and white, looking almost pink. I read about the WiFi button on the front of the router, which seems a bit of a questionable location, and pressed it, even though I'm pretty certain it wasn't pressed before. When that did nothing, I pressed it again, and it did nothing again.

I would hate to RMA a perfectly good router just because I don't know what I'm doing. It also seemed, at least for the initial period, that it worked spectacularly. I just don't know what happened between then and now, so I'm hoping one or more of the experts here will help, as all help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Hello, first posting, a complete newbie as far a routers go, last purchased the D-Link 615 (Version B).