What's new

RT-AC68U often crash

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

ramfast

New Around Here
Hi,

I'm new with this router. I have applied the latest firmware of course (378.54_2)

Problem : router can crash 3 times per day !
Compare to my previous router (Linksys WRT54GL with DD-WRT) I'm a little bit disappointed and I would like to identify the root cause of this problem.

When RT-AC68U crash, no internet access of course, ping of 192.168.1.1 is not responding and leds of lan and Wan (internet) are blinkings, lef for Wifi are fixed.
The only solution is to switch it OFF and ON.
I tried to erase NVRAM (by pressing button WPS when switching off and on the power.

I'm not using complex function : only mac adress filtering for Wfif, parental control and time scheduling for Wifi . No VPN configured, no LPD printing, no USB disk connected.

When I look for system log, I have noticed this sometimes : Disk_Monitor : Got SIGALARM

So how to identify why it crashes sometimes ?

Regards

Yann

You can have a HW problem, it could happen with any router, dont think its FW related but if you want give a try on a different FW (Stock/Tomato/DD-WRT,others) and check it the same happen, if so RMA it.

Identifying a HW problem only can be done via serial cable or software not included on the FWs, like for example memtest.

Also you can try check your syslog after the crash happening looking for any critical msgs.

PS: Make sure you have RESET your router properly (press RESET button 10sec without releasing it) or via WEBUI - FACTORY DEFAULT RESTORE.

Good luck.

NVRAM is cleaned with RESET button, no need WPS procedure.

OK,
crash again this morning.
Latest information in syslog was from yesterday evening, nothing about this morning.