What's new

RT-N16: What are my firmware options?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

fggs

New Around Here
Good evening,

I would like to discuss what are my firmware options for this old router, if that is ok.

I've never used RMerlin before, but it seems the best option for what I need, which I will explain below.

I'm running dd-wrt 30880 big currently and wireless is not as reliable as it used to be with dd-wrt Kong builds. Kong has stopped working on this router because he doesn't have it anymore and I have upgraded to have IPv6 support.

I'm also about to upgrade my internet connection to 200MBit/100MBit and it seems this router is still capable if using stock firmware or RMerlin, because of CTF.

Although, the ISP from this connection uses VLANs for internet, IPTV and VoIP. From what is known, they are in 100 range, meaning: vlan 100, 101 and 105 if I recall correctly.

Another thing that I want to do is to make it my DLNA media server and, if possible, also run Transmission (torrent client).

During your explanations on why not release newer firmwares for this router RMerlin said Tomato has a very solid support for RT-N16, but I've never used it and I don't know if they are still supporting this router.

TL;DR:

My needs are basically:

1- Reliable Wireless

2- VLAN Support (within 100 range as explained above)

3- DLNA media server

4- Transmission torrent client

5- CTF (also known as fast path) to support a fast internet connection (200MBit/100MBit)

6- Non-exploitable firmware, security is a concern

7- IPv6 support (optional)

Giving the firmware options below, which one seems to be the best choice for the needs above?