RT-N66U official firmware 3.0.0.3_162

Discussion in 'ASUS N Routers & Adapters' started by doc octopus, Jul 24, 2012.

  1. doc octopus

    doc octopus Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Bologna, Italy
  2. Log in / Register to remove this ad

  3. whsbuss

    whsbuss Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    165
  4. Jola

    Jola Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Messages:
    11
  5. doc octopus

    doc octopus Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Bologna, Italy
    asus ftp site does not work well. must repeatedly groped
     
  6. mosoccer

    mosoccer New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    6
  7. Jola

    Jola Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Messages:
    11
  8. SLK350

    SLK350 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    ASUS RT-N66U B1 Firmware Version 3.0.0.3.162

    Fix bugs:
    1. UI related bugs
    2. Network map cannot show device name.
    3. QoS control for wired connected devices.
    4. Special character name/password issue in VPN server.
    5. Download master installing issue in AP mode.
    6. PPPoE compatibility issue.
    7. L2TP compatibility issue.
    8. Sonos audio system and network map compatibility issue. Special thanks to Merlin for his contribution.
    9. IPv6 6in4 memory leak
    10.IPTV multicast related issues
    11.FTP/Samba account change issue

    Modified
    1. Enable cross night setting in wireless radio on/off setting page.
    2. Enable Beceem Wimax support.
    3. Change default wireless security to WPA-AES in QIS.
    4. Add Spanish language.
    5. Modify VPN server UI.
    6. Tune IPv6 connection for ComCast
    7. Upgrade 3G profile

    Download master 3.1.0.59
    1. BT cache size changed to 256KB
    2. Support crosse night schedule setting
    3. Show amulle server connection status
    4. Modify the HDD free space detection behavior
    5. Fix download master association tool connection issue
    6. Fix the torrent file add problem when changed the download directory
    7. Modify the downloading task refresh process

    Download master association tool 2.0.3.3
    1. Support manget link and ed2k on Google Chrome, Firefox, IE
    2. Fix the manget link association issue on Win7 64bit IE9
    3. Fix the ed2k download issue on IE
     
  9. doc octopus

    doc octopus Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Bologna, Italy
    nvram return to 32k. :(
     
  10. AnthonyArmato

    AnthonyArmato Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    264
    Wow, it did. :mad:
     
  11. zbeyuz

    zbeyuz Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    What is the benefit to have 64k nvram ? I can see this version runs quite good for me...

    P/s: Anybody still have a slow down with Qos in this release ?
     
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2012
  12. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    14,738
    Location:
    Canada
    The router stores a lot of information in nvram, including hardware configuration. In the case of a dual band router like the RT-N66U, it means a lot of that space is already taken by hardware configuration, leaving limited space for storing actual user configuration.

    A typical RT-N66U with basic settings has only around 2 KB of space left out of 32 KB. Those 2 KB are used to store things like port forwarding, DHCP reservations, QoS rules, etc... It's very easy to accidentally fill up the remaining nvram, which will result in a crashing router, followed by a complete wipe of all your configuration.
     
  13. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    14,738
    Location:
    Canada
    Asus only released betas with 64 KB nvram. The last official release (144) was also 32 KB.
     
  14. AnthonyArmato

    AnthonyArmato Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    264
    RMerlin, are you able to implement that when you update your version ?
     
  15. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    14,738
    Location:
    Canada
    I've had 64K nvram enabled since my 144.10 builds.

    I'll release 157.12 real soon, then start working on rebasing on 162 once they release the sources.
     
  16. AnthonyArmato

    AnthonyArmato Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    264
    Well, that's what I meant. Once they release the info you need from 162.
     
  17. worthmining

    worthmining Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    is 144 the last official? it's not available from within the router upgrade UI. 112 is still on mine showing the most current. However, on 112 I've experienced daily stale and had to reboot at a daily basis, otherwise the router is awesome.

    I run linksys EA4500 and N66U side by side, both performed greatly with multiple HD streaming on both 5G and 2.4G. The only difference seems to be the coverage and speed on the edge. N66U, if not this daily stale/reboot, its speed is better than linksys its about 20-30 feet away from the router. therefore I'm looking for the newer firmware to upgrade hopefully takes care the staleness.
     
  18. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    14,738
    Location:
    Canada
    Asus pulled 144 the day after releasing it, for unknown reason.

    162 is now the latest official release, published by them today.

    I suspect your daily reboots might be caused by you using an IPv6 tunnel. There was a memory leak in Asuswrt that was fixed by Asus in 151.
     
  19. haggi

    haggi New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    I am located in Europe (FW 162) - how does the N66U sense my location? I would like to try power settings beyond 100mW, but it doesnt let me.
     
  20. Gingernut

    Gingernut Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    132
  21. worthmining

    worthmining Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    By stale, I mean the speed drops to very low.

    I don't have ip6 tunnel on (in the type dropdown it says disabled). However, just loaded 162, will see how it plays.
     

Share This Page