What's new

RT-N66U Repeater Noob Question

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

tonyastro

New Around Here
Hi, I'm a complete noob. I want to use my RT-N66U as a repeater to my Netgear Nighthawk AC1900 router that's on Giggle Fiber internet. I've tried researching for 2 days but I don't understand any of the words I'm reading. Can anyone give me a simple step by step on how to turn my Asus router into a repeater? Basically my problems are how to make my Asus see my Nighthawk router. Usually there's a scan button where it scans all available wifi spots to choose from but I don't see it anywhere on the interface. My phone can see the Asus when it's turned on. Can anyone help?

Have you actually put it in repeater mode in the Administration tab?

Now I can't even get to the Asus rt-n66u (repeater) page when I go to 192.168.1.1! It keeps going to the Netgear (main wifi router) page. Since I can't get a step by step let me give a step by step of what I'm doing:
1 turn on Asus n66u (repeater)
2 plug cable from one of the 4 yellow ports to a laptop
3 go to 192.168.1.1 on a browser
What am I doing wrong?

The repeater has no longer the address 192.168.1.1, but got a new one from your main Netgear router.
You may use the Asus device discovery tool to find the repeater address, or look into the Netgear interface and try to find what address it has given to the repeater.

The repeater has no longer the address 192.168.1.1, but got a new one from your main Netgear router.
You may use the Asus device discovery tool to find the repeater address, or look into the Netgear interface and try to find what address it has given to the repeater.