What's new

Running os on nas

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Navster

New Around Here
hi I'm a newbie to the server world. I was wordering is it possible to have an os on a nas that a Mac or iPad Can connect to and run applications on the server. I installed Windows 10 VMware on my server but can only access it on my pad if MacBook is running through a Vnc. I want to be able to connect with my pad or phone or any other device and run any application or web browser off the device connected to nas is this possible at all, without my MacBook running?

Depends on the types of applications you want to run. But as you have already found out, the ipad is mostly for consumption of media and light gaming. Not for doing what you want it too.

What do you want to do on the NAS via a mobile client?

hi I'm a newbie to the server world. I was wordering is it possible to have an os on a nas that a Mac or iPad Can connect to and run applications on the server. I installed Windows 10 VMware on my server but can only access it on my pad if MacBook is running through a Vnc. I want to be able to connect with my pad or phone or any other device and run any application or web browser off the device connected to nas is this possible at all, without my MacBook running?

Some NAS boxes can host VMs, such as those from QNAP. Any VM can host an OS, assuming it has the physical resources available. All Windows based OSs can support TeamViewer, a remote desktop program. TeamViewer has client apps for just about every computer, including tablets.

So, yes, you can do it. Quite easily.