setting up new network

Discussion in 'General Wireless Discussion' started by smiley35, Dec 26, 2012.

  1. smiley35

    smiley35 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    I am new at this but not a complete novice at computers so please by kind. I want to set up a wireless network in my home to include two laptops a cell phone(maybe) and a kindle fire. I have two desktop PCs also. From what I understand the wireless router will connect to my cabled modem from there I will configure the devices I want to access wirelessly. I have a wired router now that allows both the desktop PCs to access the internet. Is there any way to keep that as is, to work the wireless around the wired to have my two desktop PCs still safely wired while my laptops, cellphone and kindle connect wirelessly? I hope that made sense.
    Thanks to any and all help in advance.
     
  2. Log in / Register to remove this ad

  3. mlg321

    mlg321 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    You can either keep your current wired router and put your wireless router in bridge mode (routing off) or replace your wired router with a wireless router that has enough wired ports for you needs and connect your PCs to that.
     
  4. Jefferson11

    Jefferson11 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    United States
    Hello dear i just want to say you that you should setup your new network from the operator who is providing you this facility because he know very well to operat this and make the good and best network connection don't try it by your self...

    Hair Removal
     
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2014
  5. stevech

    stevech Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    6,109
    Location:
    San Diego
    Yes. Most any common WiFi router will have 4 Ethernet ports (RJ45/cat5 cable connections). You connect PCs and other devices to these ports. You can get even more ports by adding an inexpensive Ethernet Switch, located somewhere away from the router, if need be, according to where the connections need to be.

    Meanwhile, WiFi access to the router exists.

    Be sure to setup your WiFi to have a unique SSID and enable/use encryption. Don't use the factory defaults.
     

Share This Page