What's new

Sizing/choosing an AC router

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Marcva

New Around Here
I'm new to the forums, though somewhat tech savvy. I am a product manager who has built PCs and has a general sense of networking.

As I look at the AC routers. I see AC 1200/ AC 1750 AC1900 +++, I need to supplement my house with a second router to extend to the basement Entertainment area, and don't know how much router to buy. I was zeroing in on an AC 1750 router
1) Netgear Nighthawk 1750
2) TP-Link c8

but wonder if I can get away with an AC1200 unit.

Beyond size of router, I'm wondering if there are differences across brands (support, etc). that matter

The gory details
--------------------

The Space

My house is a longish (80 ft) ranch house with a basement Entertainment room in the middle. The screen in the basement is a 720P/1080i plasma screen. There is a home office in the middle of the house on the floor above the entertainment center, but getting ethernet there would be awkward.

There is a FIOS router at one end of the house. The basement entertainment room currently sees signal strength of -80db. Home office signal strength is -70db. I have Ethernet lines to basement at the far end of the house and to the home office in the middle of the house.

The Pipe and its Users

We currently have a 50 Mbps FIOS pipe. There are two adult users in the house and 8 and 10 year old kids.all phones and most PCs are AC devices. Devices would include 1 connected Bluray player 2 notebooks, 2 phones.

Our Usage