What's new

Slow Website Loading/Browsing; fast speed/low ping on speedtest.net/fast.com

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

sinfinite

Occasional Visitor
Hi There,

I recently flashed a TM-AC1900 to RT-AC68U and am experiencing slow website loading. If I switch back to my old router, it's normal again. With the new ASUS Router, it takes 2-3 seconds before it displays the website/loads anything.

This problem exists on stock firmware and Merlin firmware.

Additional Information:
Slow on all connections, wired, 2.4GHz, 5GHz
Downloads seem to be fine
Speedtest/fast.com seems to be fine
No Packet Losses

Do you have any suggestions on what to do?

I am a newbie with networking, so please bear with me; I may need simplified directions.

Thank you for your time and I apologize if this was addressed in another topic, the only other one I could find was http://www.snbforums.com/threads/high-latency-web-speeds-rt-ac87u.31907/ but I do not have an AiProtection features enabled.

It sounds like your DNS requests are slow to respond. Are you using different DNS servers with the Asus compared to your old router, or something that effects DNS like Parental Controls?

It sounds like your DNS requests are slow to respond. Are you using different DNS servers with the Asus compared to your old router, or something that effects DNS like Parental Controls?
Thanks for the response.

I've never touched DNS settings on my old router so I assumed I could have it automatically detect again. What do you recommend I change the settings to and how?

I tried using Googles DNS by going into the WAN section and disable automatic DNS detection and putting address 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4; but there's still a little delay.