What's new

Strange problem with RT-AC87U 2400 Gigabit Router

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

beastmaster

New Around Here
Hi all

First, apologies in advance as I'm very new to all this side of things.

I've got one of the above routers wired to a gigabit switch, to which are connected an Xbox One, PS4, Apple TV and my works laptop as and when I need to.

What's happened is quite odd. I was downloading a digital game on PSN whilst using a VPN to get onto the works network. I was running TOAD to connect to Oracle databases and started getting TNS Timeouts. Also a couple of hyperlinks for URLs that I've used before seem to be looking externally as I'm getting the BT page saying it can't find what I'm looking for.

It seems as though all the resources were allocated to the PSN download and it somehow mixed up the VPN connection. I know the software for this has traffic management so is there any way I can give 'priority' to my works laptop? I've got a workaround for it but it's a bit of a pain and don't want to have to keep doing this every time this happens.

I suppose the easiest thing for me to do is press the reset button on the back of the router for 5 seconds and it'll probably sort itself out. What will this actually do by the way? I take it it won't reset the admin and WiFi password setting and just clear something out? What exactly?

Thanks for your help.

Pressing the rear orange reset button for 5 seconds will reset the router to factor default condition.

You will have to start from scratch to re-enter all the router settings again, including the admin name and passwords and everything, just like setting up the router for the first time.

While connected to the VPN, most likely you are using another DNS.