What's new

Considering a Synology Router

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

jkbmjp

Regular Contributor
I am new to Synology products. I want to find out if Synology router would be good for me to buy.

Currently, I am using the Linksys 1900ac router and I have tried Asus 68u, Netgear r8000 and Homehalo routers. Homehalo sucks and is made for the non technical user. Asus is ok and provides a lot of features but doesn't work well with Apple devices. Netgear doesn't do it for me.

I am thinking of trying the Synology router. I am not sure if I should try the RT1900 or spend the extra cash and get the RT2600. I am wondering if I can do the following with the Synology router.

1. Block Sites- I need to be able to block HTTP and HTTPs sites. I need the block to take affect immediately with no delays.

2. Time Schedule- I need to be able to set a time schedule PER hour PER device on the router itself. Everyone knows that if you pause a Youtube video AFTER the block is active, the video will continue to play and still gives the user the ability to search other videos. I can't have this happen. I need the block to take affect immediately.

3. Traffic Analyzer/Web History- I need to be able to view ALL traffic or look at some log to see the activity on each wireless device. This would include sites that are visited and attempts made on a blocked site. It would be nice to see which sites such as Youtube or Netflix is frequently visited PER device.

4. Network Map- I need to be able to visually see on a network map all devices wired and wireless connected to the router. It would be nice to have type of device, brand, model, IP address, MAC address and current status.