TL-ER6020 review request?

Discussion in 'Routers' started by LuMax, Dec 26, 2012.

  1. LuMax

    LuMax New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    I don't know if this is possible (or the correct forum), but I would like to request that SNB perform a review of the new TP-Link TL-ER6020 Dual-WAN Gigabit VPN Router. I use Unifi Pro APs for WIFI, so I don't need a router that also has WIFI. Looks like it is available for about $130 USD online. Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Log in / Register to remove this ad

  3. tipstir

    tipstir Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,632
    Location:
    South Florida
    You won't go with this SMB Enterprise Router Mini version for their ER6120 which I own and currently using. Mine is rack mounted but this one seem to be not and can place anywhere. Like with mine I don't need all-in-one WiFi Router AP. Best to keep them separated for best results. If you should buy the ER6020 get it off Amazon since you get 30 days to return if it's defective. Again those that his the ER6020 are happy with it. As I am happy with my ER6120!

    Just make sure you get the latest firmware update for these VPN routers. There is emulator on TP-LINK where you can test out the Router Web Admin GUI.
     
  4. LuMax

    LuMax New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    The 6120 is about $100 more than the 6020, the main reason I am more interested in the 6020.
     
  5. tipstir

    tipstir Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,632
    Location:
    South Florida
    You're paying for the rack mounted size, faster NPU (network processor) additional RAM, larger NAT throughput and double the sessions connections. If you don't need that then get the 6020.
     
  6. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    9,956
    Review is in progress. Should be up sometime next week.
     
  7. LuMax

    LuMax New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Awesome! Perfect timing too.
     
  8. coolspot

    coolspot Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    I'm interested in the 6020 too, but unfortunately it's not available in Canada :( TP-Link Canada seems to only carry the ER6120.
     
  9. LuMax

    LuMax New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Yes, they appear to be identical except for the following:
    TL-ER6020 vs TL-ER6120

    Flash/DRAM: 16MB/128MB vs 8MB/128MB
    Concurrent Sessions: 30,000 vs 60,000
    NAT Throughput: 180Mbps vs 350Mbps
    IPsec VPN Throughput (3DES): 80Mbps vs 130Mbps
    Tunnels
    IPSec VPN: 50 vs 100
    PPTP VPN: 16 vs 32
    L2TP VPN: 16 vs 32

    And of course the difference in the enclosure size.
     
  10. tipstir

    tipstir Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,632
    Location:
    South Florida
    Yep all that the extras you get with the business enterprise version. This model you mentioning wasn't available when I was buying the ER5120 and ER6120. Frankly ER6120 is better than ER5120 which gave me a lot of issues managing the ports updates would not changed/update/save. ER6120 no issues at all!

    ER6120 and it's matching managed switch from TP-LINK are running 24/7 no issues with them. The only time I access the Web UI when I need to add new network equipment. Power consumption has be very low.
     
  11. rschandl

    rschandl New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    I'm having a hard time deciding between the TL-ER6020 vs TL-ER6120. I'd prefer to purchase the 6020 since its nearly half the cost. We have a 50mbps/5mbps connection from our isp and between 75-125 devices on the network. There's a large number of high-bandwidth applications constantly in use such as netflix, Skype, BT, etc. What do you guys think?
     
  12. tipstir

    tipstir Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,632
    Location:
    South Florida
    Best to get the ER6120 is has faster NPU (network processor unit) more RAM an d larger buffering. But shop around for the best price. I have a lot stuff on the network here, and Wii, and HD 1080p recording over network etc. To be frank just can't go cheap when it comes to main router. The amount I've spend over the years on SohO types that never held up to what I do on my network but SMB is much better. You can also managed your switch ports instead of being only set to Auto.

    I don't even bother with the ER6120, because it's running so smooth, the only time I access it when I had another node to the network. But now my 16-port manage switch is almost full, time to get another one. :)
     
  13. coolspot

    coolspot Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    The 6020 won't even break a sweat for a 50mbps connection, the ER6120 is an overkill for most (if not all) home networks.
     
  14. tipstir

    tipstir Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,632
    Location:
    South Florida
    Not overkill for me if you can get it at a very good price which I was able to do. Prices goes up and down in this market class. I've spend way too much on Cisco Linksys Routers add up the cost would be over $400 bucks from 2011 to 2012 both have failed and just can't handle what I really need here!

    So buying the ER5120 and ER6120 are not overkill they're stable well the ER6120 was over the ER5120 had configuration saving issues on mine. ER6120 offers better features and I really don't need 4x WAN Ports that ER5120 offers. If your fine with ER6020 then buy it!

    TP-LINK does offer your choices, so you have the choice to go with either model.

    Good luck on your decision!
     
  15. Pain

    Pain Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Client VPN IP Address Pool Can't Use Same Subnet?

    I searched around and this is the only thread about this router specifically.

    I've read the review and it doesn't address this, but it seems the problem exists with others, based on some forum posts and Amazon.com review for this unit.

    When I am setting up an address pool for PPTP/L2TP clients, it won't allow me to use an IP range from the LAN subnet. So, I can connect just fine to the VPN, I just can't do anything.

    Also tried setting up a route from the VPN subnet to LAN subnet, but no joy.

    I have an IPsec tunnel set up to another vpn firewall and that seems to be working fine.

    Any suggestions on this, or information regarding an updated firmware? There is only one listed on the TP-link website, and I have the original version installed.
     
  16. transmitter

    transmitter New Around Here

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Fanless ?

    Doubting between 6020 and 6120.
    The 6020 is fan-less. Is the 6120 fan-less as well or does it have a noisy ventilator? Can not find back picture of the 6120 to find out.
    Have a Peplink 380 now and find the fan producing a lot of noise and since it is close to my desk, it bothers me a lot.
     
  17. coxhaus

    coxhaus Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    758
    Location:
    texas
    The 6120 router is completely quiet. Being close to your desk would not be a problem.
     
  18. tipstir

    tipstir Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,632
    Location:
    South Florida
    No fan in these units. Nothing in the back except of the grounding screw (you get the heavy duty grounding cable included and power 3-prone connector. 6120 is a better deal
     

Share This Page