What's new

To ac, or not to ac...

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

peshko

New Around Here
Hi guys. I am currently running Netgear WNDR3700v1 that has been running pretty badly lately (well, to be honest before it went bad, i never had to reboot the router - it's been running for months with no any administration). I have been fighting with Netgear for the past 3 months, but as always it was pretty much a lost cause since the beginning - after a year you are toasted and it seems their routers are build to last 1 year + 1 day.

Regardless, I have been looking for a new router and reading reviews here and on the web in general here is the outcome:

- Netgear R6300 - not bad review from here, but about 5% 1-star reviews on amazon with many complaining about constantly rebooting, loosing connection, etc.

- Netgear wndr4700 - here it is reported as uneven wireless performance and considering I have pretty much devices covering b/g/n not really a good choice. Most interestingly up link is better than the down link in a magnitude of 2x - 3x?!?!

- Cisco EA6500 - relatovely good review here, but at 30% 1-star review at amazon makes it a no-no. Many complaints about the performance and loosing connection

- ASUS RT-AC66U - Big imbalance in wireless up & down throughput

So, really the question is:

1. Do I really need ac...I'd say no, but most of the ac routers has the power (not necessarily true reading the reviews). I dont have any ac devices.

2. What would be the best router??? at least from those that I looked at as above?