Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Troubles with my new rt-ac66u

Discussion in 'ASUS Wireless' started by theviper04, Dec 26, 2012.

  1. theviper04

    theviper04 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    I have an rt-ac66u and it keeps dropping 2.4ghz signal, the 5ghz signal is flawless and it keeps dropping so I have to restart the router every once in a while. I originally had it at the latest firmware and then I upgraded to the asuswrtmerlin latest one, that didn't work either, I didn't expect it to anyways. This was my replacement for the 1st rt-ac66u I had which had the same exact problems, constantly dropping 2.4ghz signal. Its a rare thing to receive two lemons so I think its a software issue or something else.
     
  2. mikeg

    mikeg Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Messages:
    326
    Location:
    Sweden
    Have you tried changing settings on the 2.4 GHz band - Prodessional - there is
    a setting for just this problem : I am not at home and can not remember what it is but it is a setting there you can change from no to yes. Look in the forum
    here where other users had had the same problem.
    Update found it : Add enhanced interference management option for 2.4GHz in Advanced settings->wireless-> Professional

     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2012
  3. xerose

    xerose New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    I had the exact same problem with my AC66U. After some research I found a post on dslreports to disable Enhanced Interference Management in the Wireless / Professional settings (it is only listed under the 2.4Ghz drop down) and after that I have not had any 2.4Ghz drops! :)

    In the dslreports post the poster said he had gotten this tip from rmerlin of course so thank you again rmerlin!!! :D
     
  4. theviper04

    theviper04 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks you guys so much that helped a lot. I actually was messing around with the settings earlier today and I reset to factory settings and ever since the 2.4ghz network was flawless.
     

Share This Page