What's new

[MOOT] True firewall needed for HIPAA compliance?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Jonnie Cache

Occasional Visitor
I’m an attorney and we have an IT company we work with for my law firm. They are trying to tell us that with HIPAA, because we often deal with medical records, we have to have a very expensive firewall instead of just a router. Does anyone know if this is true? I know nothing about HIPAA as that’s not the kind of law I practice. But, I feel like our IT company is trying to get us to spend money that we don’t need to spend.

Is it really a requirement or merely a “best practice”?

The firewall itself is usually just one part of being HIPAA compliant. You don't "require" a big fancy firewall for HIPAA compliance. You should just require a properly managed firewall....but more importantly, you need properly defined processes and procedures on how you handle that data when storing, transmitting, and processing it. This includes encryption, proper access controls, and many other items.

If you are using a consumer grade "router" with no outbound firewall controls in place, then yes, you should find a better solution. However keep in mind this is usually where you bring in outside experts to review your entire environment if HIPAA compliance is a concern.

Thanks for the information. I guess I'm not sure if we are even a covered entity under HIPAA. From what I can tell, we are not because we don't regularly deal with medical records. I'll have to do some more research on that issue.

In terms of the "router", I was considering an Ubiquiti Unifi Router Pro as opposed to a multi-thousand dollar firewall appliance.