What's new

TS-451 or TS-453 or DS415play or DS415+ ?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

HenryHonda

New Around Here
Hi all

I'm a newbie to NAS really, and have read a lot of the guidance on this and other sites - but don't pretend to understand a lot of it :confused:

I wonder if some of you good folks could help me clarify which of my narrowed-down choices to go for? Basically, I'm after the following functionality:

- we have one desktop (Win7 Pro, 1GB Ethernet), two laptops (Win7 HP, WiFi n) (WinVista HP, Wifi g), two Nexus 7 (2013) tablets, one HTC One and one iPhone 4 - plus a range of networkable AV kit.

- I know that NAS/Raid on its own is not a backup solution. I am thinking of backing-up NAS to USB3-connected external HDD - but don't yet know how to setup a schedule for this.

- I definitely want to have continuous/incremental backups going for the desktop and laptops, and probably tablets (WiFi).

- I have AV clients (Dune Smart D1 media player, Panasonic TV, Oppo BDP-103 player) which can all stream content from networked devices. I'm particularly interested in streaming full Blu-ray rips from the NAS. Don't think I'll need transcoding...

- I like the idea of Surveillance Station with HDMI-attached monitor.

- I have a 1GB Ethernet router and switches.

- I'm thinking of populating RAID with 4x WD RED 30 EFRX.

One thing that has thrown me in comparing SNB test results is the large difference in 'Network Backup' performance between the QNAP and Synology products. Is this relevant for my incremental backup requirements?

Sorry if these questions appear uninformed/stupid :eek:

Go Synology or QNAP. Try their on-line demos.