Updated to Merlin build...is this correct?

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by neil0311, Nov 27, 2012.

  1. neil0311

    neil0311 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Messages:
    133
    Updated my RT-N66U from the stock Asus .220 build to Merlin build 3.0.0.4.246.20. Everything seems good, but noticed that not all of the 256MB of RAM is being reported.

    Is this correct or do I possibly have a hardware issue with bad RAM?

    Memory
    Total 234.25 MB
    Free 195.62 MB
    Buffers 5.22 MB
    Swap usage 0.00 / 0.00 MB
     
  2. Log in / Register to remove this ad

  3. Pierino

    Pierino Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    504
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yup, it's normal.
     
  4. DaveMishSr

    DaveMishSr Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    474
    Location:
    San Diego
    Here's what my RT-N66U running 246.20 reports:

    Memory
    Total 234.25 MB
    Free 65.07 MB
    Buffers 12.28 MB
    Swap usage 0.00 / 0.00 MB

    I have "enable DoS protection" enabled in the "administration/firewall" settings and I am assuming that is why my unit is using so much RAM.
     
  5. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    14,625
    Location:
    Canada
    The Linux kernel needs to use some of that RAM for the OS.

    Dec 31 19:00:13 kernel: Memory: 238608k/131068k available (2520k kernel code, 22568k reserved, 512k data, 196k init, 131072k highmem
     
  6. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    14,625
    Location:
    Canada
    DoS protection basically adds a few iptable rules that will throttle connections - it should have negligeable impact on RAM. Most likely your RAM usage is either DownloadMaster or AiCloud (one of the AiCloud services is a major memory guzzler if you leave it running for a few days).
     
  7. neil0311

    neil0311 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Messages:
    133
    Thanks everyone. I assumed it was probably reserved to the OS or another function, but you know what they say about assuming. :)
     
  8. DaveMishSr

    DaveMishSr Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    474
    Location:
    San Diego
    I have both AiCloud and DownloadMaster running. Should I worry about that?
     
  9. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    14,625
    Location:
    Canada
    Should be fine, except for AiCloud which I suspect might be increasing in memory usage over time. Keep an eye on your free memory. If it becomes a problem, you could configure a cron job to reboot your router automatically once a week in the middle of the night, or disable AiCloud if you don't use it.
     

Share This Page