What's new

What options should I consider when buying a BETTER wifi adapter?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

element72

Occasional Visitor
I'm not a network engineer, so I'm taunted by the vast information on the internet about networking. There is just too much research required, and I felt it would be easier to pose a question based on my wants. I'm a PC gamer, so having low latency is my highest priority. I have 3 different ways to access the internet. My home wifi, my cousin from across the street (with his permission of course), and public xfinity wifi (don't know where it is located yet). I have a strong signal for each connection, but I want to get something better to keep that strong signal. I do switch connections, if I see congestion, while gaming.

I have seen directional adapters, wide coverage adapters, multiple antennas, long antennas. I almost considered buying a 3000m range wifi adapter; I'm glad I posed a question about that purchase here on yahoo, because I was told wifi isn't great long distances due to high ping and slow speed. And the guy mentioned how it can be done with coporate level technology lol, but even those are vulnerable to simple interference.