What's new

What to use to improve wireless coverage

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

BlahBlahBlah

New Around Here
Hi There,
I have a virginmedia suberhub ac downstairs but the signal upstairs at times (no particular time of the day/night) is weak and loading a webpage on my laptop and tablet can take what seems to be forever as im a complete novice im here asking for help on what i can use to combat this problem , what ever is suggested id like to stay as wireless as possible

Reposition router, if possible.
or
add an access point (AP), located near the area of weak coverage.
http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/basi...w-to-add-an-access-point-to-a-wireless-router

Many WiFi routers have an AP mode, making it an AP not a router despite its name.

The challenge: How to connect the AP to a spare LAN port on the router:
  • Cat5 cable inside walls, under floor, in attic
  • IP over home power wiring (see the section here by that name)
  • MoCA - IP over existing TV coax cables in walls.

Don't use a wireless extender (WDS) which is like an AP that uses wireless to link to the router. It's a "repeater". It halves your speeds and doubles the channel usage.

Thanks for your answer Steve, i will have a read of the above link and then decide what route to take concerning the challenges.
Just to pick your brain again are usb wifi adapters anygood?
When you say not to use a wireless extender does that include wireless powerlines?

Thanks for your answer Steve, i will have a read of the above link and then decide what route to take concerning the challenges.
Just to pick your brain again are usb wifi adapters anygood?
When you say not to use a wireless extender does that include wireless powerlines?