What's new

Which wireless adapter should I buy to gain advantage of N66U

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Linning

Occasional Visitor
I'm going to buy the ASUS N66U router. I have a desktop and I need a wireless adapter. I've looked at the ASUS PCE-N15, but I'm not sure if this is the best wireless adapter to gain advantage of the ASUS N66U. Would I be better off going USB or Ethernet or PCI express? I'm new to networking. What specs should I be comparing when I look for wireless adapters?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833320074

Go with PCI-Express whenever possible. USB 2.0 would be pushing it to its limit, so you might get some better performance out of PCI-Express.

PCI-Express card also tend to have better antennas.

There are many PCI-E wireless adapters. Note that most or all of them are PCI-E x1. Even though that motherboard has a full x16 slot, it should still fit. PCI-E x16 is designed to be compatible with smaller sizes(but not vice versa).

So the adapter that you linked to in your original post will definitely work.

Notes on USB vs. PCI-E: PCI-E x1 offers bandwidth of up to 500 mbps. USB does 480 mbps. Not a huge difference. Both are duplex. EDIT: That's actually 4000 mbps for PCI-E x1. 500 mBps.

Those really high 1.3GHz speeds that you hear thrown around with AC devices are actually half duplex. Which means you devide 1.3 by two to get 650 mbps. Not only that, but those are some seriously theoretical numbers.

You're thinking of doing N only as far as I can tell, which means the bandwidth of USB is more than enough. 300mbps again is half duplex so 150 mbps. Realistically, I've been able to get around 50 mbps in testing but I've never tested with an N66U ;).