Wireless Bridge Setup - Slow Transfer Speeds

Discussion in 'General Wireless Discussion' started by DonWie63, Feb 26, 2013.

  1. DonWie63

    DonWie63 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Peoria
    Since nobody has responded to my earlier thread I am going to try and rename this to an appropriate heading.
    To start with I have tried the help desks for ASUS and Synology and they both say the problem is not theirs and refuse to help further and I am not sure which of these sub-forums to put this question that has been plaguing me for quite some time now so here it goes. If anyone has any further questions please let me know and I will respond ASAP.
    First off here is my layout.
    Cable modem connected to internet
    CAT 6 Ethernet cable from cable modem to First ASUS RT-AC66U Wireless 802.11AC Router
    CAT 6 Ethernet cable from AUS Router to Main PC
    Second ASUS RT-AC66U Wireless 802.11AC Router setup up as Wireless Bridge
    CAT 6 Ethernet cable from Second Router to Home Theater PC
    CAT 6 Ethernet cable from Second Router to Synology Diskstation DS +1812 networked hard disk

    Here is my problem - if I try to transfer files from "Main PC" to the Synology networked hard disk, I get transfer speeds from around 4 MBps, way too slow. But if I login into my "Home Theater PC" and initiate the same transfer from my "Main PC" and the "Synology", I get 40 MBps transfer speed. Am I missing something? Is there a setting I need to change? Since I am transferring the same files over the same route, the only difference is who initiates the transfer, I do not understand what setting to change.

    If there is any more info anyone needs just let me know.

    Thanks

    Don
     
  2. Log in / Register to remove this ad

  3. stevech

    stevech Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    5,916
    Location:
    San Diego
    2nd router is a client bridge, functionally. They have you leave the WAN port unused, right?

    Your speed units are xxMBps meaning bytes per second, right?

    The results indicate that the 802.11ac isn't working correctly, it seems. Try some pings and look at the reported connection bit rate (WiFi) and assure it is a high rate with good signal strength both ways.


    You'll need special software, or us a single large file with which to measure speeds. You'll also see in aggregate more speed with 2+ parallel transfers.
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2013
  4. kasigi

    kasigi New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Same Problem

    I have the EXACT same issue you are seeing right down to the 4 Megabytes per second transfer speed.

    For testing the routers have been between 3 and 5 feet apart and I've verified that I have the only 5ghz network in detectable range.

    Anybody find a solution to this issue with the Asus AC routers?
     
  5. stevech

    stevech Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    5,916
    Location:
    San Diego
    Questions
    1) is the WAN port of the second RT-AC66U unused? I don't know about the RT-AC66U's explicit bridge mode (right? explicitly a user choice in their setup screens?) The WAN port is normally used for the routing functions - and a bridge has none. If this is hosed up, it can cost throughput because you'd be double-NATing, etc.

    2) The two need to be on channel numbers separated by at least 3 channel numbers so there's no competition for use of the channel. And at close range, this will be more pronounced and perhaps even more channel number (RF freq) separation is needed if distance between the two is less than about 50 ft. and they are line of sight.

    I'd put my NAS on the first router's LAN port, for sure. If not, I'd avoid it going over WiFi and use MoCA or HomePlug/power wiring bridge if you just *cannot* use the 1st router or get cat5 cable to where you must have located the NAS.
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2013
  6. kasigi

    kasigi New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    The primary Asus unit is in Access Point mode (there's a separate wired-only router governing the network itself elsewhere on the network). The second wireless unit is in Media Bridge mode.

    DHCP is controlled by the wired router and both wireless units have their DHCP servers deactivated. Both routers have reserved IP's assigned to them by the DHCP server based on their MAC addresses.

    In short, no double NATing, or any NATing at all sending data across the LAN.

    The primary Asus unit in Access point mode has a cable connecting it to the lan on the uplink port (WAN port). The bridge unit has its WAN port empty and the ethernet cable is connected to the LAN ports.

    I also did a few tests to isolate where the speed appears to be lost:

    -- I plugged a cable into the LAN ports of the primary unit and ran a file transfer test with a resulting speed of ~55 megabytes per second

    -- Connecting to the wireless LAN on the primary unit and the same test yields between 10 and 15 megabytes per second

    -- Connecting to the LAN on the bridge unit yields the afore-mentioned 3-5 megabytes per second.
     
  7. kasigi

    kasigi New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Just to state something explicitly:

    Bridge router is actually a client to the primary router's wireless so I can't set the channel or much of anything on the wireless.
     

Share This Page