What's new

Wireless router for around $150 ?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

naseem142

Occasional Visitor
Hi,

I am not an expert on routers or networking, i just know a thing or two like the basics.
So i'm asking for your help!

Anyway, I need to replace my asus rc87u that has given me endless troubles and i can no longer take it.

I'd love a wireless router that has the great range of the RC87U, but of course reliable and stable that won't fail me after few months.
There are 4 PC's that will be wired and at-least 10 devices that will use wireless.
I'm also willing to spend $150 give or take , if there a router that costs like $20 more and it's worth getting then i won't be hesitant to add a little more budget.

I'd appreciate if anybody can help me out!

AC68U

Between AC68U and the R7000 , which one would you recommend? i'v come down to this choice.

ASUS has the better firmware. NETGEAR the better hardware. If you're not prepared to run a 3rd party firmware on the R7000, I wouldn't recommend it due to its stock firmware sucking a lot, especially recent versions

ASUS has the better firmware. NETGEAR the better hardware. If you're not prepared to run a 3rd party firmware on the R7000, I wouldn't recommend it due to its stock firmware sucking a lot, especially recent versions

I have no problems running a custom firmware as long as it's going to yield better experience overall and hassle free.

How much better hardware exactly? in quality of components or just a little difference in performance? Stability is all i need , i'd go for the R7000 if inferior hardware on asus's side means there is a possibility that i'll be getting the same connectivity issues like on the 87U.