What's new

Wiring My Home - Conduit and Cable Interference

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

VanishingHope

New Around Here
Moved into a house nearly 2 years ago. I plan on wiring my home with Cat6 (solid, 4-pair, 550 mhz tested, plenum, unshielded) and rewiring the coax with RG6 (I believe it's RG6). Still in the design/planning phase. I've read many of the SNB articles regarding this.

I'm still budgetting and determining costs of local installation companies to compare cost of having them do it versus doing it myself. I have some experience taping/mudding drywall and have terminated many cables & setup many small home networks for family... just none of them required through-wall cable management.

My biggest quesetion for the forum is: should I put in conduit for future drops? Based on my home layout, I have a feeling some larger sections of each room will need to be cut out. While the walls are "open", should I spend the extra money to have conduit put in? If so, what diameter is sufficient?

Is there a limit to how many runs I put together? My family room, I plan on 5 drops -- 3 Cat6 and 2 Coax. It's the only room receiving so many. Is it ok to run all 5 of these within the same conduit/section?

Any other hints or tips for are more than welcome. I'm planning to have this complete by end of October.

Thank you,
--Aaron

conduit would be a great luxury - save money by making it low-voltage-only for the code.

Now when you wish you have fiber or some as yet unforeseen medium, you can just pull it in!

I have Fios TV and Internet, no home phone. I figure 2 coax drops to my family room was all that's needed, just in case I wanted PiP or something like that. We do not have an antenna.