ZyXEL NSA325 Reviewed

Discussion in 'NAS Article Discussions' started by terion, Oct 16, 2012.

  1. terion

    terion New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    So far I was considering only 2-Bay Synology or QNAP as my first home NAS. There wasn't much of a competition. But recently it is Synology vs QNAP vs ZyXEL NSA325. From latest review it looks that Zyxel has good performance but at lower price than i.e Synology. Where is a pitfall I haven't noticed?
     
  2. Log in / Register to remove this ad

  3. stevech

    stevech Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    5,638
    Location:
    San Diego
    Try before you buy, via their web site. If they have it.
    ZyXel is a good company for SOHO network devices.
    Be sure their NAS operating system, features and applications, and stability are on par. I very much doubt it. Doing NASes well is hard, and that's why Synology/QNAP/Thecus limit themselves to that. So Netgear, Buffalo, IoMega and others are not on par, as I see it.
     
  4. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    9,709
    Both Craig and I were impressed with the ZyXEL's feature set and the array of installable add-ins.

    As with all products, we can't speak for long-term reliability. But the NSA325 seems to have lots of bang for the buck and a decent admin GUI.

    Part of the reason QNAP, Synology, NETGEAR are priced so high is that people have been willing to pay for the extra features. Iomega, WD, ZyXEL are finally waking up and starting to put up more of a fight by adding features. Buffalo, unfortunately, has not kept up with the competition in either features or performance.
     
  5. terion

    terion New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks for replies.
    I will check prices in following weeks, but I think I will try Zyxel.
     
  6. stevech

    stevech Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    5,638
    Location:
    San Diego
    go to Synology/QNAP websites. Try their on-line NASes in demo mode.
    Get a feel for what their software is/does. Then compare.
     
  7. tipstir

    tipstir Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,632
    Location:
    South Florida
    I own NSA325 no issues with it at all. For NAS wise it works like they have describe it. It's also a Print Server I use with my DELL Color Laser 1250c, Media Server works with both Toshiba Thrive 10.1 Android Ice Cream Tablets where I can stream movies from it to any media network device wired or wireless. There is also Web Server I use that now instead of IIS7. FTP Server too. Can use Cloud Servers like Dropbox too with it. Can be access via Internet using their Android app to remote control your NSA325. Lots a features for a device that can support dual 3TB for 6TB. 1.6GHz and 512MB with Gig Port, USB3 and 2x USB2 ports.
     
  8. eas

    eas New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    I think people might also want to consider the NSA320, another two-bay Kirkwood based NAS from ZyXEL. The main differences, near as I can tell:

    1.2 GHz CPU vs 1.8GHz
    3x USB2 vs 1x USB3 and 2x USB2
    ~$110 vs ~$170

    Firmware features and UI seem similar, if not identical. The NSA320 also has 512 MB RAM, and installable packages. Both run Linux, and support hooks for "fun_plug" that allow you to run scripts off a USB drive at bootup, which provides an avenue for installing 3rd party software.

    I picked mine up for $90, and ended up installing Debian on it. I'm thinking of popping for another. It's not the fastest hardware, but its good enough for my needs, and the low price, relatively plentiful RAM, and compact, quiet enclosure are nice.
     
  9. tipstir

    tipstir Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,632
    Location:
    South Florida
    320 or 325 basically are the same except for the CPU Speed and USB3 on the 325.
     
  10. raghubhaskar

    raghubhaskar New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Which router for NSA325?

    Could someone tell me which would be a compatible wireless Router for this NAS? I'm looking at streaming content to PS3 and my laptop.
     
  11. stevech

    stevech Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    5,638
    Location:
    San Diego
    Any router.

    Streaming from NAS to things in your home - uses only you local area network (LAN); no routing needed. Indeed, if you get a 10/100/1000 ethernet switch, connect to it your NAS, router LAN port, PCs that are wired, game consoles, etc., then none of the data even goes to the router, unless it's generic internet traffic.
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2013
  12. WeaselWeaz

    WeaselWeaz New Around Here

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    I know this is an old thread but I'm hoping that means people have used this for a while. A few questions.

    - How loud is the NSA325? This will go in the living room of an apartment, so I'm hoping we aren't going to hear this all the time.

    - How bad an idea it it to put this in an enclosed space? Ideally, it would go in my media console with the door closed.

    - Any way to back up to Crashplan from this unit?

    - Any way to have users backup to the NSA325 over the internet? It would help justify the cost if my parents could backup to it.

    Thanks for any help.
     
  13. stevech

    stevech Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    5,638
    Location:
    San Diego

    see embedded comments.
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2013
  14. eas

    eas New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    I have an NSA320. It is pretty quiet, but they don't go out of their way to dampen drive noise.

    It doesn't emit that much heat, probably less than you AV equipment. How warm does the media console get now? Keep in mind that heat is one of the major killers of HDDs.

    WRT Crashplan, I run it directly on my NSA320, but I replaced the stock firmware with Debian. Even then, I had to jump through a few hoops to get a JVM running and ARM versions of some of the required native libraries. There are ways to get it running with the stock firmware, but it is still going to be an involved process.

    Contrary to what is asserted above, Crashplan running on a PC/Mac can backup
    directories on a remote server, but on windows at least, you have to jump through hoops because the default service permissions can't access remote directories.

    If cost is an issue, consider the NSA320. Last I looked, it was 2/3rds the price. The main difference is the NSA325 has USB3 vs USB2, and a 1.6GHz CPU, vs a 1.2GHz. In my experience, performance seems constrained by interrupt handling on the CPU. A faster CPU helps, but it may not provide a linear speedup.
     
  15. stevech

    stevech Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    5,638
    Location:
    San Diego
    Interesting... when I tried CrashPlan on Win7, the NAS per se omitted as a source OR destination when trying to use CrashPlan's on-line server. I asked their tech support and they said that yes, they like others, don't allow customers to backup their NAS (for business reasons).

    I suspect that CrashPlan can use a NAS for peer to peer backups, but I was referring to use of their cloud storage to backup selected folders on the NAS, or the same as mapped drives under windows.

    It would be great if the above isn't true.
     
  16. sparks

    sparks Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    I made some harsh statements on my comments on this unit.
    I might have had a bad one I am not sure but it was a complete failure to me.
    At first I tried dropbox and trying to put some movies on the unit. These files were 10 to 20 gigs.
    None made it past 9Gigs transfered before the unit locked up.
    I tried mapping to the directory and got up to 4gigs before the unit quit.
    I got a message in admin saying a new version of the software was available so I updated thinking maybe that was the problem.
    installed, shutdown and rebooted the nas.
    OK lets see now. yep it just goes into limbo at 1G transfered.

    No this unit was not for me at all. Good thing that I purchsed from Amazon and got a refund with no hassles.

    Maybe it was bad and maybe its just for little files I don't know but I gave up on it real quick.

    There have been a lot of post on other sites saying this unit is well for a better word ....JUNK
     
  17. sparks

    sparks Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    small update to all this.
    They are releasing a V2.
    Not sure what it will fix or address or maybe its just a new processor.
    just a fyi
     
  18. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    9,709
    ZyXEL is sending a V2 for review.
     
  19. gianlore

    gianlore New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Nnsa 325 v2

    I am now a member of "ZyXEL NSA325 V2" when he comes I will try to participate in this forum to exchange advice and support
    bye:p:p
     
  20. sparks

    sparks Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    newegg is closing out the V1's for $129....its $149 and the code on the page is for instant $20 off.
    Weasel at that price even if it doesn't work it might be worth a shot. LOL
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2013
  21. stevech

    stevech Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    5,638
    Location:
    San Diego
    Price Sells.

    Caveat Emptor
     

Share This Page