1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

2 DDNS addresses with Asus RT-AC680u router?

Discussion in 'Other LAN and WAN' started by Kelly, Apr 15, 2019.

  1. Kelly

    Kelly New Around Here

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Hi I have the above mentioned router and I have 2 DDNS addresses I want to use to hit my network remotely. 1 is a shared NAS and the other is my security system DVR. with this router, I only see the option to have 1. Is there a way to add another?

    all of my other routers I've had allowed for this

    thanks

    kelly
     
  2. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,488

    Do you mean the RT-AC68U?

    Why can't you use a single DDNS to access anything on your network behind your router?

    I haven't seen any router that can do two DDNS addresses for a single WAN connection?
     
  3. Kelly

    Kelly New Around Here

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Yes. I had a typo with the “0”

    I have 1 ddns with noip.com for 1 Nas that is shared with a group of people but I can’t seem to access my second noip.com address because the setting in the router has me specify the address. My old surfboard router let me configure both but I can’t with this one
     
  4. faria

    faria Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Messages:
    175
    You can add as many ddns you want to the router with scripts scripts .
    Currently i have 3 ddns running from the same router.#
    1 default asus ddns via GUI
    2 dyndns via script to update with vpn client ip.
    3 backup ddns via script as the asus one tends to fail from time to time.

    here is a custom scrip for no ip https://github.com/Meliox/Utils/blob/master/ddns-start/ddns-start
    also if im not mistaking you can use dnsomatic supported by the firmware to update more than one ddns.
     
  5. Kelly

    Kelly New Around Here

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    You rock! thanks so much
     
    faria likes this.