1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

2 routers, vpn on one, tor on second

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by marcusvvv, Mar 18, 2019.

  1. marcusvvv

    marcusvvv Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Hi,

    On which router, which firmware this is possible?
    I wanna plug second router to first (1lan port) second router (wan port)
    Set vpn on first router for mac address of second router, next set tor connection(on second router) for laptop wifi connected to second router.

    In this configuration my traffic goes in this way? ISP->VPN -> TOR -wifi laptop,
    IS go thru vpn that my ISP don't see im connectiong to TOR network?
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2019
  2. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,595
    If they want, they could still see it. ;)

    I don't know how 'possible' this is, but I don't think it will give you what you are looking for, in either case.
     
  3. marcusvvv

    marcusvvv Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    what that means if they want?
    In some cases i run vpn connection on my system then next use tor browser. My ISP see that i connecting to VPN but cant see that im using TOR, i dont using this to be more secure, but to hide from my ISP that im using TOR.
    So please answer me, all traffic in this case what i described with 2 routers go thru VPN or not.
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2019
  4. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,595
    It means just what I wrote.

    Your ISP is not just who you connect to, it who you connect from too. They have control of both ends of the connection(s) so they can see what you're connecting to. What VPN does is they don't know the content of those connections.

    Possibly others will prove what I stated above to be wrong, I personally don't know how to achieve what you're describing though.
     
  5. marcusvvv

    marcusvvv Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    nope, if you connect to VPN, ISP can see only that you connect to VPN IP addresss, dont see nothing after, nothing. Ofcourse if you know what youre doing (killswitch, dns leak etc)
     
  6. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,595
    That is where our beliefs differ. :)
     
  7. marcusvvv

    marcusvvv Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    why you wrote here? if you dont wanna answer me , you have 7,5k posts using merlin software with vpn and toor tabs, and wite to me about believe and another blablabla? wheres this discussion goes?
     
  8. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,595
    Sorry that I am not giving you the answers you want. I can only share what I know.

    I've never written that I use a VPN provider or TOR. But I do use RMerlin firmware.
     
  9. KingJohn

    KingJohn Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 20, 2018
    Messages:
    96
    Why are you using TOR Via a VPN connection?

    When you connect to the VPN a standard browser works fine, can even add a few plugins that lie to people who ask where you are :) Firefox tells people my Geo is in Panama :) (Im in England) Oh what a give away...

    ipleak.com

    I plugged the leaks :) NordVPN
     
  10. marcusvvv

    marcusvvv Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    i dont wanna let my ISP provider see that im using TOR, is this answer is enough for you? google it
    https://www.quora.com/Should-you-use-a-VPN-with-Tor

    using tor without vpn in these days not recomended, this function on asus merlin is useless unless you connect vpn first
     
  11. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,595
    I may be missing something here, but that link is contradictory, I think.

    Anyone, can set up a TOR exit node to spy on everyone using TOR?

    The order of connection you're asking for in the first post seems to be riskier than using TOR>VPN, according to that link.

    My takeaway is that anyone using either or any combination of both is automatically superficially placated into thinking they are 'safer' while at the same time they are also putting themselves on the radar to be more intensely scrutinized for their online surfing habits by both 'good' and 'bad' actors on the internet.
     
  12. marcusvvv

    marcusvvv Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    probably youre right. but i still need answer, is everything ok with my setup, can i connect 2 routers described on first post?, this connection will work?
     
  13. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,595
    https://www.snbforums.com/threads/to-vpn-or-not-to-vpn.55600/page-2#post-472951

    That link above is why our beliefs differ. ;)



    I really wish I had the technical knowledge to help you. At this time, unfortunately, I don't.

    This thread is still pretty fresh though, there may still be others that can.
     
  14. KingJohn

    KingJohn Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 20, 2018
    Messages:
    96
    so the 256bit encription has also been broken by your ISP?
     
  15. KingJohn

    KingJohn Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 20, 2018
    Messages:
    96
    Think im asuming you already have the VPN setup in the router, so after that dont see the point in using TOR unless its used for DW and not just hiding your real IP, as the VPN has already hidden your real IP address, DNS set to VPN's or OpenDns and finally some extra plugins in Normal Firefox just for fun, as nobody knows you from a Geo location anyway :)
     
  16. marcusvvv

    marcusvvv Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    i know what i need, question is on first post, i dont wanna anything else , just answer, thats it, or if this setup will not work, please give me advice how or is this possible.
     
  17. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,595
    You really need to give more details if you want further information. Dismissing peoples suggestions off hand is not engaging you to others that may actually be able to help.

    What routers do you have? What firmware are you running?

    Why can't you do this on a single router?
     
  18. marcusvvv

    marcusvvv Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    i can have any router with any firmware. I create thread in Asuswrt-Merlin, so guess why im here open thread? no in other. firmware doesnt change nothing, the newest firmware if you ask,
    You really dont have any technical knowledge, you dont understand also that firmware and model of router is not important here at this moment is not the point LOL

    If a man ask you where can he eat good tbone steak around and only this, you try to ask him why tbone steak? and later you said - i dont even know where is good chicken, but try to describe how big steak you want and descibe how you will eat this i ask friends maybe they will help you :D

    On one router i can't send all traffic first to VPN and from VPN to TOR. Don't ask me why i cant use tor browser on system or whonix gateway in oracle vbox on router connected to VPN, because you dont need to know this WHY
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2019
  19. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,595
    No, actually, you can't have any router with any firmware. There are substantial differences that may be important. 'Newest' firmware doesn't mean anything either. There are at least 4 or 5 'latest' firmware versions that people are currently using/testing with.

    And just from your cryptic responses, I would have never guessed you were using RMerlin firmware either.

    I wish you luck treating other users the same way on this forum.
     
  20. marcusvvv

    marcusvvv Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    is not the point you understand? because somebody can wrote here -is possible and i will ask on which firmware, second man wrote - not possible and i ask firmware, is really hard for you i see......

    maybe i edit first post for you specially, added only: "On which router which firmware this is possible?"
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2019