What's new

2 VPN Client and 2 WiFi SSID: how to route traffic

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Carlo

New Around Here
Hello Everyone,
i'm Carlo from Italy: this is my first post on this forum :) (well it's the second :D )
I did search and i did try to find the answer to my need but i didnt find, so i'm very sorry if there is a post that answer me.
I added a comment on antoehr thread but I dont know if it was the correct place, so i try to open a new thread.

I am not an expert on network/shell so i try ask you if you can help me, my question is very similar to the one of this post https://www.snbforums.com/threads/ssid-for-vpn.39852/ , but cant understand how to solve it.
I have an asus RT-N66U with the last version of Merlin-Asuswrt (380.68).

Router LAN is 192.168.2.1/255.255.255.0.
Wan is 192.168.1.1/255.255.255.0
I have enabled WIFI 2.4 & WIFI 5G with 2 different SSID
I have configured 2 VPN: Client 1 and Client 2 (they are working)
I did an ifconfig and i found these interfaces: br0, eth0, eth1, eth2, lo, tun11, tun12, vlan1, vlan2.

My wish is to route traffic to VPN Client 1 for the devices connected to the WIFI 2.4, and route to VPN Client 2 for the devices connected to the WIFI 5.0.

I do not have many devices so i guess an easy solution (maybe) can be to assign different dhcp range (eg. from 192.168.2.10 to 192.168.2.29 for WIFI 2.4, and from 192.168.2.30 to 192.168.2.49 for WIFI 5) and configure the Policy Rules on each VPN Client.

Can someone tell me if the solution can work... and how to do it?

Thank you very very much for your support.
Carlo.

Last edited: